1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Control Panel, My Computer do not work

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ojsimpson, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ojsimpson

    ojsimpson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    If I attempt to open up Control Panel, My Computer, search for files, or any folder on my desktop, all icons on my desktop and my taskbar disapear and then everything pops up like it was before. All of my programs will still work with the exception of Internet Explorer. When i try to open it, the hour glass cursor appears for a second, and then nothing happens. I have downloaded SP4 and IE 6 but no luck there. Any help will be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. PC_Wiz

    PC_Wiz

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    Does the problem occurs in safe mode?
     
  3. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Lets have a closer look there OJ..

    First please get Spybot S&D to clear out most of the spyware.

    Short tutorial and download link here:
    http://tomcoyote.org/SPYBOT/

    Fix everything SpybotSD labels in red.

    Then after reboot:
    Download 'Hijack This!'. http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log, load it in Notepad, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, don't fix anything yet.
    __________________
     
  4. ojsimpson

    ojsimpson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks alot for the help.

    My problem was all due to spyware. I have a copy of Adaware 6 that I downloaded recently and have ran frequently, but I had never done the whole webupdate thing. So I ran webupdate and did another scan and found 43 more objects as opposed to the 6 objects I found running the scan before i ran web update. I feel kind of stupid now, but at least my computer is working.

    Thanks again,
    Matt
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Control Panel Computer
  1. KazukiMatsuoka1998
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    499
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218092

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice