1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cONTROL PANEL.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by washton, Nov 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. washton

    washton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Hi,
    My control panel has changed from a page full of icons to a long dropdown strip of small icons with there lables.
    There is no obivous way in to alter anything.
    I will be gratfull for a solution.Thanks.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    72,918
    at the top, where it says file, view, etc, click view, and choose either icons or thumbnails, whichever you prefer.
     
  4. washton

    washton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    sorry I dont have any file , etc' There is onlyThe start menue and the dropdown controlpanel list .Nothing else.Absolutely void of anything I can click.
     
  5. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    If you mean the All Programs list, then check this.
    Right click on the Start button and select Properties.
    Start Menu tab> beside Start Menu, click the Customize button.
    Click Advanced tab look under Start menu settings and see if this box is checked:
    Open submenus when I pause over them with my mouse
    if you check the box, then hit OK.
    Also on the Advanced tab, you can select to show Control Panel as a link that will open
    it instead of a menu.
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    72,918
    no, go to start > control panel and open control panel. Then you will see the file, view, help, etc at the top.
     
  7. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    valis,
    Have you recovered from your 36 hour work marathon yet?
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    72,918
    yup. Been on call all week, so when the Netherlands firewall goes down (that's where we're based) guess who gets the call. And when it's 4 pm there, guess what time it is here. So I've had a few 2 a.m. wakeup calls to restart that service, or turn off that service, but it's not big because I just sremote to my desktop and from thence to the network.

    How were you holidaze, augie? Eat enough? If not, I got ya covered. :)

    washton, where we at?
     
  9. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Thanks for the offer, but I ate enough for a small army.:D
    Guess I will start working my appetite up for Christmas dinner.
    Glad to hear you had a good one too.:)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - cONTROL PANEL
  1. Vettepartz
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    1,215
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/521575