1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Control Panel

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by SASR, Dec 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SASR

    SASR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    When I go to control panel and try to double click on System or network, it doesnt work (ie nothing happens). Now I have tried to reinstall windows 95 (my OS) and I cant even find system or Network in my control Panel. What have I done???
    And how can I find out my machine name without these things?

    Thanks
    Sharon:confused:
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,009
    Hiya and welcome

    Did you do a full format or just reinstall the OS on top of your old one? I have found this article, but its about the ones that you're not seeing being there, if that makes sense:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-GB;q132885

    Anyway, if it wasn't a format, have you ran an uptodate Virus checker? If not, try here:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    Also, lets see if you have any spyware. Go here and download AddAware www.lavasoftusa.org
    Instal and run it, ensuring that Deep Registry Scan is enabled. Remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net. If you're unsure, copy/paste the list here.

    Also, whilst you're there, get RefUpdate and install and Run it.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. deanas

    deanas

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Network is easily added from the
    add/remove program in the control
    panel.
    However, not getting into system is
    a new one on me. When you reinstalled
    95 did you say no when it asked you
    which file do you want to keep?
    Have you checked for a virus?
    One place to check is:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_pcc.asp

    I would first check for virus.
    Then try to reinstall 95 saying no.
    If that doesn't do it, I'd install 95 in a
    new location.
     
  4. SASR

    SASR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,
    since you fixed my last problem, I thought id try you again!
    I am trying to set up a personal web server to teach myself ASP. In doing this, I am getting stuck when it asks me for the machine name. I have put in the name found at the control panel (system folder) but that doesnt seem to be correct (it says my name). Can you help?

    thanks
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,009
    Hiya

    You may want to start a new thread, as you said that the last one is finished. Then, when you start it, give some details on which web server it is, and all the problems you're getting.

    As for this one, what was the answer? Was it a virus?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63488

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice