1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Controlling internet access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by carib, Jan 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. carib

    carib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    We recently changed to NT DHCP to assign IP addresses and other config info. Is it possible to somehow stop certain users from accessing the Internet, without giving them static addresses. We want to keep using DHCP.
    What would be the simplest way to do this?

    :confused:
     
  2. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    How many users do you need to stop? If it is just a few then I would set just those to static.

    You could go to the individual machines and delete the iexplore.exe, or if you have the machines on ntfs, you could create a group and call it NO_IE or something like that, add the users to that group, then either connect through the network to the root drive of the individual computers through the hidden administrative share \\computername\c$ or go to each individual machine and add the noaccess permission for that group to the ie folder.

    You could also setup a domain group policy to only allow certain applications to be run by those users. Just create a group, add the users to that group, then create the run list in the domain policies.
     
  3. Monk_

    Monk_

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    702
    If you dont want them accessing the internet, dont enter a Default Gateway in the IP config on those machines.
     
  4. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,070
    First Name:
    Bruce
    Filter their MAC addresses on the DHCP server from receiving a gateway.
     
  5. carib

    carib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Thanx for the responses, I'll let u know what route I take and how it works.
     
  6. Raphael

    Raphael

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    382
    I tried Monk's idea, it worked and it was easy to set up. The problem is, the users on the workstations would have a pretty easy time putting it in.
     
  7. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    That would depend on the workstations.

    On NT, 2000 and XP stations, as long as they are only in the ordinary users group, they cannot change those settings. Leave them out of the power users and administrators groups and they cannot change network settings.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64444

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice