conversion

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

straitlynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
20
i have a sony vaio vcg-rb30. i was wondering if it possible for me to hook my tv monitor up to my computer to watch movies, and if so what kind of hardware id need. thanks...
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
It should just be a matter of getting right cable and hooking it up. From highest quality to low use either DVI, VGA or S-video. See what input connections you have on your TV.
 

straitlynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
20
my tv has rca inputs however, i cant see any other outputs on my computer other than where my monitor plugs in...
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
Here is a page from the Sony VGC-RB30 desktop manual and it shows DVI, VGA and S-video, maybe I have the wrong model no.
 

Attachments

straitlynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
20
yep thats it. so can i pick up a cord at a store that has the dvi end on one side and rca on the other, or how would that work?
 

straitlynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
20
my bad, my computer actually doesnt have all those outputs running along the bottom. theres just slots with tin blanks that looks to be where those outputs would be if i had them.my monitor output is actually the only place i have for an output.is there still something i can do?
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
It looks like you just have on-board video, but if you look at this picture you can add a PCI card. So you could get a PCI video card that would have dual output and s-video output you could hook up to your TV.

See if you have either an AGP or PCI-e slot. With one of those you could get a better video card.
 

Attachments

straitlynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
20
any idea on where i could look for one of these(best buy, circuit city, something like that)? are these things expensive and would i need to bring my computer in to have it installed?
 

straitlynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
20
so if i got one of these, i would just need to get a s-video cable, connect the computer to my tv and my tv would then act as my monitor?i just want to not have to sit at my 15" monitor to watch stuff off of google video and veoh and things like that...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top