1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Convert Access 2000 database to Access 7.0?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by JT Cole, May 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JT Cole

    JT Cole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Is it possible to convert an Access 2000 database to Access 7.0? I have an old machine that I would like to run a database on but it only has Access 7.0 for WIndows 95.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,744
    First Name:
    Anne
    Actually, I think you can only go back one version at a time. So you'd have to save from 2000 to 97, open it on a 97 machine and save it as 7.0.
     
  4. JT Cole

    JT Cole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    OK. Thanks I'll try that if I can locate cpu's with those versions. What if I can't, though, are there any stand alone conversion programs or anything?
     
  5. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,744
    First Name:
    Anne
    To my knowledge, no.

    The best I can do is offer to save it down for you since I'm running 2000 and 97... but I wouldn't even be able to test the running of it.

    Office 95 didn't even use the same VBA that we use today, so if there's code being used in the DB, it could be bad.
     
  6. JT Cole

    JT Cole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    I tried it here on some machines at the office. I opened the 2000 database on an office 2003 machine and converted it to 97 successfully. Then I opened it up on a 97 machine and tried to go to Tools and Convert but the option is greyed out. So it looks like 97 doesn't have any options for converting to prior versions. Probably because it doesn't run on the same code. Does this sound about right?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/227390