1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Converting a Wireless network into a Wired network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by metalgod334, Feb 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. metalgod334

    metalgod334 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Hey,

    I require help converting a wireless signal into a wired network, for internet use.

    I just moved into a house share, and to my surprise there is no ethernet port in my room or anywhere nearby.

    The router itself is located on the top floor and although I do have a 20m ethernet cable handy, I don't think my new house mates would enjoy a long cable placed throughout the house, also my room door seems to seal itself shut, I doubt I could feed a cable through anyway.

    With this in mind, I can no longer use my PC online, as it has no wireless card (I much prefer a secure, reliable wired connection, I always see wireless as a gimmick for phones). So I am stuck using my laptop, which has wireless enabled.

    So I was just wondering if anyone knows of a way to convert wireless signals from a wireless router, to a wired connection. I have a switch on hand, with 8 ethernet ports, and I have several ethernet cables.

    I have found a phone line, but I have no idea if it works. I found a filter, allowing an ADSL cable or a phone cable to connect. I may try getting hold of an RJ11 to RJ45 cable and hope the phone line socket is working fine.

    Thanks for reading! :)
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,389
    Phone line will probably not work , if its just an old extension lead

    have you thought about using powerline adapters
    these use the home electrical wiring to transfer the signal
    so you plug one of the powerline adapters into a mains plug (some units have pass through) so you can plug the router into the power on the powerline adapters
    then from the powerline adapter to the router has an ethernet cable

    now in your room
    you plug the other powerline adapter into a mains plug and then the ethernet into the PC

    so if the quality of the electrical wiring is OK - you would get a cabled connection
     
  4. metalgod334

    metalgod334 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Wow, this sounds amazing! I have never heard of these before.

    I shall look into it now!

    Thank you very much for your help :)
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,389
    what country are you in ?
     
  6. metalgod334

    metalgod334 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    I'm in the UK :)

    Wish I was in the USA or Australia XD
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,389
    I'm UK
    you have loads of choice
    Maplins etc
    I use richardsounds occasionally or i get clients to purchase from them, as the clients often have Sky and need catchup , and they have a router in a different room
    They mostly sale netgear

    look for Passthrough versions - has a 13A socket in the front
    also look at the specs for speed

    this type of thing
    http://www.devolo.co.uk/article/dlan-500-av-wireless-starter-kit-powerline-devolo/
    this one has wireless and usually a special deal a lot cheaper

    quite old article now
    http://www.frequencycast.co.uk/powerline.html
     
  8. metalgod334

    metalgod334 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Brilliant, thank you very much for this.

    The article explained the set-up very well.

    Thanks for being so helpful, I will be unable to purchase the device until tomorrow now, but I will mark this topic as solved, as the device will offer exactly what I require.

    Thanks again! :)
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,389
    you are welcome
    just watch the speed specification
    cheaper models have lower speed specs
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1185202