Converting videos from a canon digital camera (motion jpeg) to a "usable" format

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AhrenBa

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2005
Messages
884
Hey Guys,

I have a Canon SD1000 digital camera that takes videos in motion jpeg, and is contained in an .avi extension.

I hate my camera for this. :) The files are big and I run into a lot of problems with the motion jpeg format.

How can I convert the motion jpeg video from the Canon camera to a more usable format, such as .mpeg or .mov? Thanks.
 

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
I've found that the funcionality of Super benifits greatly if you install one of the codec packs as well, K-lite or mega for example.
 

AhrenBa

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2005
Messages
884
Thanks guys for the response.

I have had SUPER for quite a while now, but found it to have a number of problems while converting.

Is there a way (option) in SUPER to make the output file have the same bitrate and movie/audio quality, but with just a different file format (.mpg)?
 

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
Dimensions you can usually find a place to check to keep the same as input but for bitrate you just kind of have to know what you need for a certain quality that you're looking for on the device or screen you intend to play the result on.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
1
AhrenBa said:
Hey Guys,

I have a Canon SD1000 digital camera that takes videos in motion jpeg, and is contained in an .avi extension.

I hate my camera for this. :) The files are big and I run into a lot of problems with the motion jpeg format.

How can I convert the motion jpeg video from the Canon camera to a more usable format, such as .mpeg or .mov? Thanks.

i need help downloading musice videos unto my gigabeat i have windows vista
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I've found "Super" to be a bit dicey to use. Sometimes the very same settings will not work on the very same file. Often this appears to be a "resource" problem requireing a cold boot. You may need to experiment with the codec selection both for video and audio within the output "container" selected.

The .flv format offers best compression but you will need something like "Videolan" to view them.

It's best to match everything else as much as possible to the file being converted. Just double click it in Super to open the analytic utility.


>>> missyrose78: you need to open a separate topic for your problem rather than "piggyback" -- but welcome to the forum :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top