Cookies are being blocked?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

helpme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
25
Hi guys,

I have a website which has been up and running for a few years. I rather keep the web site anonymous. In order to access our website your browser needs to accept third party cookies. If the browser blocks cookies the client will receive a message asking them to activate cookies.


We haven’t made any changes on our website in over a year. However, in the last 3 weeks or so I have had a few clients (less than 1%) who have had issues with cookies. From past experience, sample adding our web site as a trusted website in IE solved the problem. But for theses few clients it doesn’t solve the problem. We also tried opening IE in safe mode and the problem persists. What I also found strange is the client has the same problem using other browsers such as FF and Google Chrome.

My question is, are there software programs, anti-virus programs or anti-spyware which by default block cookies. Or this a simple case, where theses clients have a virus on their computers?

Thank you in advance
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
This type of error will occasionally occur when computer date and time aren't correct.
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
It may depend on your website, or ads it may be containing. If some clients are using software like Spybot S&D or SpywareBlaster, they may be blocking ads and cookies coming from their huge ad server blacklist.
 

helpme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
25
There are no ads on our websites. I will see if they have software like Spybot S&D or SpywareBlaster which would deleting block cookies (Live).
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
A hosts file may be blocking things too.
That's possible too. Like the MVPS HOSTS file, which will block a lot of third party cookies.

Can you have your clients check their HOSTS file?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Also Spybot S&D has the Globe Host or something like that and it's a hosts file. Some firewalls and or anti-malware programs could also block sites.
I know Online Armor and Emsisoft Anti-Malware could.

Also if it is in an host file it can be listed twice.
Like this here where your also have the www. added
3PartySite.com
www.3PartySite.com
 

helpme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
25
Can you tell me how I can check the host file? And what exactly should I be looking for? Thanks in advance.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top