1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cookies

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by deuce, Dec 13, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    My cookies were disabled when I installed an ad blocker and I haven't been able to enable them again. Cookies are turned back on but my computer isn't accepting them. Any ideas?
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi deuce_mn,

    There can be different causes for this to happen, but it does occur if your computer date is set too far in the future.
    So that's one thing to check out (Control Panel Time -Date)

    And here's a MS article:

    Error Message: Not Accepting Cookies

    Good luck,
     
  3. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Time is ok. Just double checked the cookie settings and they are enabled as they always were. Sorry to confuse but they have always been set to "enabled" but they are disabled in that cookies aren't being accepted and programs are telling me they have been disabled. Looking over the article you posted now... :)
     
  4. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    I tried what the article said and no luck. BTW I have Me.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I suppose it couldn't hurt to import this little reg file:

    REGEDIT4

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings]

    "AllowCookies"=dword:00000001


    Save as Cookies.reg and doubleclick.

    There's some more stuff that's relevant, some of it in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\3, but as I'm running Win98SE/IE 5.5 SP2, and a Dutch language version of Windows to boot, I can't just advise you to import that as is.

    Greetz,
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Sorry, I keep forgetting: crooked reg file.
    Don't import!!

    Download the attached textfile instead, save as Cookies.reg, and doubleclick it.

    Good luck,
     

    Attached Files:

  7. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    man that was a close one. glad I went to bed around 2 because if I was up about 20 min longer I would have tried that right away. I temperarily fixed the cookies for now. I got extremely pissed today after I lost a very long post I posted to someone because of these damn cookies... and had to retype the whole thing. So I played around some more. I noticed the "automatically detect settings" had been unchecked and a proxy server was put in. Would that cause it?... going through someone's proxy? Checked the atuo detect and cookies are working now but the ad blocker isn't... so the proxy must have been for the ad blocker. Can I use the ad blocker and cookies at the same time? Also... (this just happened today) now a program that is supposed to run in the background has written itself into the registry so it opens in the taskbar... grr... now I have to go in to the reg to fix that.
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I couldn't tell you about this ad-blocker, and whether it does require a proxy to run.

    About your program that's 'supposed to run in the background', I don't exactly understand what you mean.
    If it is supposed to run, it needs to start up as Windows loads anyway, and hence would very likely appear in your System Tray.

    What is this program exactly, and what do and don't you want it to do?
     
  9. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    The program starts in the system try when windows starts, but also would open itself in the task bar so I would have to close it... but I fixed that problem now so it doesn't do it anymore. About the ad blocker... hopefully someone here will chime in because I know some people here use it. The one I am using (or trying to use) is glidescope. I wonder if my ISP is the one not letting me use cookies and a proxy at the same time?...
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61666

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice