1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Coonection problems connecting to Belkin G+ mimo wireless router.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jxsilicon9, Oct 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jxsilicon9

    jxsilicon9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Okay I'm trying to connect my Trendnet TEW-430APB access point to my Belkin wireless router with cable broadband. So I can use the access point with my ps3. So far I set up the access point as "AP-Client" and entered the WEP encryption. Okay so I hook up the access point to my PS3 and it connects to the internet/PSN but then after a few minutes it starts saying "the attempt to obtain an IP address timed out".And each time the access point reconnects it reassigns a new IP and I get the same error a few minutes later. So I went into the PS3 connection settings and turned off dhcp and entered in IP manually. Kept DNS 1 as the router IP and DNS 2 blank. So now it stays in for 30 minutes or more but then another error comes up. Which says "DNS error" and when I go to test the connection I get"IP address timed out".

    So its obviously able to connect to the wireless router and the WEP key is correct. So what do you think it can be? Do you think it could be the access point is going bad? What causes an access point to go in and out when all settings are correct?Also i had to assign the access point a static IP to access the settings of the access point on my computer.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you also set the DNS to a fixed IP set
    try google open dns for primary and if required seconday IP addresses

    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
     
  3. jxsilicon9

    jxsilicon9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    I set the DNS 1 through the ps3 settings to the router IP address. And I left DNS 2 blank. The router IP address seems to be fixed.I will try your solution.Also do you think the problem could be setting the access point as "AP-Client".
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    from the manual
    page 15 of the user manual here
    http://www.trendnet.com/downloads/list_subcategory.asp?SUBTYPE_ID=1160

    is that how you are using the device - etherent cable between PS3 and trendnet and then connecting wireless to the belkin router

    with a PC connected to the belkin router lets see an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. jxsilicon9

    jxsilicon9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Its already in AP client mode. Yes that is how its connected. With the Ethernet cord between ps3 and trednenet and then the trendnet AP connecting wirelessly to Belkin. Is there a way to tell if the AP is going bad?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have a look in the belkin router and see if you see the device connecting the PS3 in the dhcp table

    has it ever worked ?

    can you take your PS3 to the router and connect directly with a cable - just so you can at least see the PS3 works on the network
     
  7. jxsilicon9

    jxsilicon9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Yes it works on the network but keeps dropping the connection and giving the errors I stated in the first post. But I haven't used this AP since last year and that was on a different network.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    see if thats a solid connection - that would then help prove its the AP
    also if you have a wireless PC - post an xirrus screen shot with the wireless pc next to the AP

    just changing the wireless channels may help - on the router and AP
    also remove all the wireless security and see if that helps


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. jxsilicon9

    jxsilicon9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Used a ethernet cord to connect the ps3 to the router. And it worked. So its definitely the access point.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I would reset the device and then go back and reconfigure it
    Page 4 in manual
    RESET
    The Reset function is to reset the setting back to factory default setting, once you
    press the “RESET” button more than 5 seconds.
     
  11. jxsilicon9

    jxsilicon9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Also I can't download the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. There is no download link on the page.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1020676

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice