1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Copied files not visible on external HDD

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by letmedanz, Feb 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Not sure which forum to post this in.
    I recently got a new iMac so am trying to copy/move some files around.
    However ANY file i copy onto the hard disk (which is in NTFS format) are not visible in Win7.
    The folder into which i copied into is visible but shows size as 0 bytes, whereas there is around 1.7TB of data in that folder.
    ALl older folders which were created/modified in Win7 earlier are visible.
    If i attach the disk to the Mac, the the files are there..
    Am using Paragon NTFS if that matters...
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Please provide the results of the system info tool from this forum. There was a link to it when you started this thread.

    I can help you with W7 issues, but not iMac issues.
    edit
    There may be TechGuy.org members who visit this thread who are skilled with iMac usage, but I am not 1 of them.

    end edit


    http://forums.techguy.org/69-apple-macox/

    Please provide the steps you took when copying the files to the NTFS drive.

    RF123
     
  3. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Sorry i think i missed it.
    Can i get the link again someplace?

    Steps:
    Connected TWO 2TB WD Essentials external HDD to the mac from the PC using the USB cable.
    The drive was and still is in NTFS format.
    Using paragon software (to be able to seamlessly work with NTFS).
    Copied the desired data from one HDD to the other.
    That's about it!
    I can see the files in the mac but not on the pc..

    EDIT - In fact i just realized that i am able to just view the older folders as well but not able to see the contents of any folder
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=system+information+valuable+links+site:techguy.org

    Are you copying from 1 ext HDD to another ext HDD?

    Or from an internal HDD to an ext HDD?

    RF123
     
  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Then, are you disconnecting destination HDD from 1 of the computers, [ clarification is needed ] and connecting that destination HDD to the W7 computer?

    RF123
     
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    If you want to see the files, from Computer B, copied to a HDD, when said HDD is connected to Computer A,
    you need to share the files over a network, or disconnect the HDD from Computer A & connect it to Computer B.

    RF123
     
  7. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks for the responses rainforest123.
    Yes, i was transferring from one external HDD (WD 3TB to WD 2TB)
    Both HDD were connected & ejected at the same time & both are now connected to the PC now.
    The imac and the PC are already on the home network with full access on either side...

    what do you think i should be doing now?
     
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Please provide the results of the system info tool from this forum. There was a link to it when you started this thread.

    With both external drives connected to the W7 machine

    end edit


    RIGHT click "computer"
    Left click "manage"
    Maximize the screen
    On the left, left click "disk management"

    Provide a screen shot.

    RF123
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  10. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Elvandil:
    Interesting approach. I don't think it would have occurred to me that ownership is required to view the contents of a folder.

    RF123
     
  11. drmacpccom

    drmacpccom

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Take a simple approach, the external drive that is not working right, transfer just one file and see if you can find it. If not, you may need to reformat the external drive that is not working, but hook that drive up to another computer and repeat the same test. If the drive works with another computer, then you might need to format the drive again as it may have some issues with the drive and formatting it should fix it. I hope this helps.
     
  12. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  13. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Attached is the disk management screenshot.

    This is the information from sysinfo:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6420 @ 2.13GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2046 Mb
    Graphics Card: Standard VGA Graphics Adapter, 4 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 95898 MB, Free - 14632 MB; D: Total - 514477 MB, Free - 235564 MB; E: Total - 238472 MB, Free - 45844 MB; F: Total - 2861554 MB, Free - 312421 MB; K: Total - 610476 MB, Free - 335935 MB; L: Total - 99 MB, Free - 60 MB;
    Motherboard: XFX, XFX nForce 650i Ultra
    Antivirus: None
     

    Attached Files:

  14. letmedanz

    letmedanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
  15. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    letmedanz:
    Can you see any files on Disk 2: Disk 3; Disk 4?

    Disks 2 & 4 have active partitions but have no drive letters assigned

    Disk 3 appears to not be formatted.

    Return to Disk Management
    RIGHT click the white area to the right of Disk 2
    Create a screen shot

    Repeat for Disk 4

    RIGHT click the area with diagonal lines to the right of "Disk 3"
    Create a screen shot.

    RF123
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090659

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice