1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

copy/cut/past

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by willwalk, Oct 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. willwalk

    willwalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2000
    Messages:
    91
    Hello all,

    I have just had someone complain to me that they can't copy and paste within or between documents. I figure that there must be a setting somewhere that controls this, I just don't know where. It happens in all of the windows apps that I've tried (win 2000) Word, notepad, excel etc. Anyone got any ideas?

    thanks.
     
  2. yul

    yul

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    clip board??
     
  3. willwalk

    willwalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2000
    Messages:
    91
    There is nothing on the Clipboard if I look at it in clipbrd
     
  4. rawmeat

    rawmeat

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,052
    Do you try using CTRL+C to copy? If there is nothing in the clipboard, then that may be the problem.
     
  5. willwalk

    willwalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2000
    Messages:
    91
    I have tried ctrl+c, ctrl+x and both copying and cutting via menus and buttons. None of these actually put anything on the clipboard.
     
  6. willwalk

    willwalk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2000
    Messages:
    91
    So anymore ideas anyone? It's still happenning and is a bit annoying.
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,149
    First Name:
    Derek
    this is a symptom of one o the family of the W32.spybot viruses

    Run an online antivirus check from at least one of the following sites
    http://security.symantec.com/default.asp?
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
    http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/

    then as you can't paste a hjt log into your post follow adc=vice here
    go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ , and download 'Hijack This!'.
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please post its contents to the forum.

    It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.

    To add a log to your post

    First, save your log files as a text file using Notepad or similar program.

    Then compose your post then click the browse button below the posting window and browse to the text log (wherever you have saved the text file) and then once selected, don`t preview your post, just click the Post Reply button.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170697

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice