1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Copy data without the Blanks

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Aspire2excelance, Apr 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Aspire2excelance

Aspire2excelance Thread Starter

Hi All, a Newbie here, can anyone please help me. I have uploaded a file named “removing blanks and recording data.xls. on which I am trying to list the ID’s of Clients and how much they owe. My problem is that I wish from Cell F14 of the Income Sheet to list, without any blanks, any amounts found in column M of the Payments Sheet and then in Cell E14 of the Income Sheet to record the associated data found in Column E of the Payments Sheet. I’ve checked my formulas textbooks and googled but can’t get close to a solution. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

You can easily do this with a macro. Is that an option for you?

Rollin

3. Aspire2excelance

Thanks for replying so promptly, yes a macro would be an option

4. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

Does the data need to appear in any particular order once transfered to the income sheet? (highest to lowest)

Rollin

5. Aspire2excelance

Preferably in the same order of appearance as in the Payments sheet, thanks Rollin

6. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

Try this macro

Code:
    Sub CopyData()

Sheets("Income").Rows("14:" & Sheets("Income").Rows.Count).Delete

For Each vCell In Sheets("Payments").Range("M3:M" & Cells(Rows.Count, "M").End(xlUp).Row)

If vCell <> ""  Then

If Trim(vCell) <> "" Or IsEmpty(vCell) Then

Sheets("Income").Range("F14").Value = vCell
    Sheets("Income").Range("E14").Value = Sheets("Payments").Range("E" & vCell.Row).Value

Else

Sheets("Income").Range("F" & Cells(Rows.Count, "F").End(xlUp).Row + 1).Value = vCell