copy harddrive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

interstate18

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Messages
85
My old 10 gig hard drive is getting a little full so I bought a 40 gig drive. I would like to make an exact copy of the 10 gig on the 40 gig. So far I've tried the utility provided by the harddrive company (Maxtor) and for some reason it doesn't recognize my file structure on my source disk so can't copy it. I then tried "clonemaxx" and "HDClone 2.0" and they both successfully copied the files and everything but they also copied the partition. So I'm stuck with an almost full partition instead of an almost full harddrive, this doesn't really help me much. I want the to copy the whole thing from the 10 gig partition to a 40 gig partition so I have the extra space. How can I do this?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2002
Messages
3,520
You did't say what your OS is. Included with 98/se is a utility called msbackup. I've used it to back up C to D but have not had to use it to recover C.........Might give it a try, let us know how it worked for ya, okay?
 

interstate18

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Messages
85
so basically, I backup my C: drive to my larger HD, format my new drive so it starts from scratch, install windows on it, then restore the backup. Is this correct?
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
511
No, because if you backup ur files to the 40g drive and then format it, youll lose all of ur files.

If you do what you did with clonemaxx and HDClone 2.0, you can then use Partition Magic to increase the size of the partition up to 40g.
 

interstate18

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Messages
85
by "larger HD" I meant a seperate 80 gig drive I use for general storage.

I'll look into partition magic, but I thought it cost $ and I really don't want to spend much money on something I'm only going to use once.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
511
"by "larger HD" I meant a seperate 80 gig drive I use for general storage."

ah, i see.
In that case your plan should work.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
3,888
If you use Norton Ghost it will scale everything up when moving from the smaller disk to a larger disk automatically and the target is bootable too. That is the neatest and the quickest way. Everything as before except in a big hard drive.
 

interstate18

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Messages
85
A friend of mine had partition magic. I was able to use it. For reference though in case this pops up sometime in the future for you, when I used partition magic to resize the partition I received "error 27: cannot lock drive". I ended up having to uninstall GoBack in order to use partition magic. This is probably the case for any partition software.

thanks for all you help and suggestions, I appreciate it. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top