1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Copy of Windows is not genuine

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by YahtzeeFish, Apr 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. YahtzeeFish

    YahtzeeFish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    I noticed that my computer was restarting on and off and it was trying install Windows 10. I don't know if it is a virus, but I restarted my computer in the middle of it.

    Now when I turn on my computer there a pop and a black background that has in the bottom right corner that reads (screen shot attached):

    Windows 7
    Build 7601
    This copy of Windows is not genuine

    Please advise. Computer is really slow now...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,826
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is your Windows 7 genuine?

    What happens when you click on the link given in your attached screen shot?
     
  3. YahtzeeFish

    YahtzeeFish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    It takes me to microsoft.com I can't tell if it's the real website or not...
     
  4. YahtzeeFish

    YahtzeeFish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    sorry, screen shot attached
     

    Attached Files:

  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,826
    First Name:
    Terry
    And when you click on "Validate Now" at that Microsoft page?
     
  6. YahtzeeFish

    YahtzeeFish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Well sometimes the website looks like this... and then they have a file called legitcheck...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. nerdherd

    nerdherd

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mr Yahtzee .. You are using a pirated version or windows is not genuine. Use Legit copy of Windows .
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,826
    First Name:
    Terry
    nerdherd, unless you are 100% sure and explain why you should Report the post and let an admin or mod decide. But, now that you have posted, how have you determined that the Windows is not genuine?

    YahtzeeFish, you haven't answered my first question in post #2.
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,388
    First Name:
    Frank
    YahtzeeFish:
    Assuming it's a factory-brand one and not a self-built one, what's the brand name and model name and model number of your computer?
    What's the Windows version on its Certificate-Of-Authenticity sticker(if it has one)?
    What country do you live in?

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. keltic1der

    keltic1der

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    Donald
    If you had Windows 7, 8.0 or 8.1 installed, the update to Windows 10 may have been legit. If you shut the computer off during the process of it installing it could cause issues with the validation.
     
  11. YahtzeeFish

    YahtzeeFish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Sorry, my windows is Genuine. I bought a dell quite some time back. I don't believe I have modded it at all, except for a graphics card.

    Should I just upgrade to windows 10? I am worried my programs won't work if I do so.

    I live in the USA and have this Tag on the back of my computer.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  12. DarkKnight619

    DarkKnight619

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    The activation key is mentioned on the tag. Open an elevated command prompt on the computer and type this command and press enter.

    slui.exe 3

    It will open up the activation window wherein you can type the activation key. It should reactivate windows.
     
    KinexMedia likes this.
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,826
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try what DarkKnight619 suggested, but don't use the Vista Product Key; you have to use the Windows 7 Product Key.
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,464
    I've deleted the screenshot as it revealed the license key with is unique and someone else can use it.

    If you're using the COA key you will have to install the same version, Vista Home Premium.
     
  15. YahtzeeFish

    YahtzeeFish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    I assume the windows 7 key isn't found on my computer?

    I tried to go into system properties but it says Windows isn't activated.

    Would it be wise to do a system restore?
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2016
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1169684

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice