1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Copy Protected DVDs

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by moebius, Jun 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. moebius

moebius Thread Starter

I work as a technician in a multimedia lab. we get a lot of customers who want us to burn thier VHS tapes to DVD. but now we have an advertising agency that wants us to burn 5000 DVDs. and they want them copy protected.

will we need a new dvd writer to be able to copy protect DVDs? or new software [we are using nero6 right now]? we want to get a new DVD writer anyway, because the one we have right now is one of the earliest models that came out and is quite slow.

How does one go about copy protecting DVDs? and we need a new dvd writer. any recommendations. we need something fast and reliable.

2. bonzobob999

bonzobob999

Waste of time copy protecting DVD's or CD's for that matter, any encryption can be bypassed now so it would be a waste of money, just put a large statement window on the DVD's telling people its illegal to copy/rent your DVD, thats all you can do. As for the burner........sheesh, you gonna burn 5000 DVD's with a burner? you need a multiple duplicator m8.

EDIT: In fact you need a few duplicators. :D

[​IMG]

3. moebius

moebius Thread Starter

thanks for the info. but copy protecting would put some people off wouldnt it? its a promo DVD for some concert and event management company. explain this multiple duplicator to me, and how much it would cost.

4. bonzobob999

bonzobob999