1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Copy WIN98 CD???

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by startrek76, Dec 5, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. startrek76

    startrek76 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    I suddenly became aware [after a series of crashes which caused me to re-install WIN98SE several times] of how T-O-T-A-L-L-Y dependant I was on the Microsoft WIN98SE CD-disk. If anything happened to it ... well I would be in deep, deep do-do.
    :(
    In the "olden days" of Win 3.1 it was easy to make a copy of the 3.5" floppies ...
    :D
    But Microsoft has become VERY paranoid and now has serial numbers, product ID codes and so on that have to be entered with each reinstall...
    :mad:
    I have a Yamaha 6416 CDRW/CDROM drive. What are my chances of sticking the original WIN98SE CD in,
    using something like XCOPY to transfer everything into a huge isolated directory on a hard drive, and then "Burning a new copy" of the thing?
    Actually I guess I'm asking if the copy disk will work because I know I can physically do this process.
    ============== :rolleyes: ================
    Thanks for your help in advance. You "guys" have
    always come through for me whenever I've had
    problems, much more that I can say for MS "product support".

    Rick in Los Angeles
    Star Trek Fiend of the 1st Magnitude
     
  2. thib4

    thib4

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    305
    all i copied to have a spare copy of win98se was the win98 directory
     
  3. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    yep that's all you need is the win98 directory. There is even stuff in the win98 directory you don't need, but just burn the win98 directory on a cd.

    when I install win98, I always format first and wipe out everything. I make a win98 directory on c: (md win98).Then using a bootdisk with cd rom drivers, I copy d:\win98 c:\win98 and that copies all the win98 files to the win98 directory on the hard drive. Then I just run setup from the hard drive.
     
  4. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    You are going to use a CDR in any case. Don’t over sophisticate this – just copy the CD. It has no copy protection I know of so you don’t need to do anything different from copying an audio CD if you use the copy utility of your burner software.

    Don’t go messing with X-Copy or delete parts of the CD.
     
  5. Toddles18

    Toddles18

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,910
    I do the same thing shadow does because that way when I add other components, or change settings, and it asks for my cd, I don't have to get it out, just point to the C:\win98 and you're all set.
     
  6. startrek76

    startrek76 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    :) :) :) :)

    GREAT!
    I knew I could depend on this crowd.
    I store all of these on my hard drive so I can go
    back and review them later too.
    Again Thanks for telling me how YOU handle this
    problem.

    :p :p :p
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    If you've got your installation files on your hard drive, do this, so that you won't need to point to them any more:

    Go to Start/Run, and type Regedit.

    Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup.

    Doubleclick the 'sourcepath' string value in the right pane, and change it to match the new pathway.

    This way when the CD is called for, it will automatically go to the folder on the hard drive.

    Good luck,
     
  8. markshark09

    markshark09

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    99
    I had that problem just a little while ago. It is intirely possible to copy the Windows 98 SE CD with a cd burning program like TOAST or Easy CD Creato etc. but you must have a CD-RW and a normal CD -ROM other DVD-ROMetc. I am not sure if XCOPY will work but if you make a .ZIP file with winzip and then unzip it to a CD I know that will work.
     
  9. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    All copy utilities allow you to copy via the HD, so you need only the burner as both source and destination. It is probably best to do it that way as most burners are better readers than the average plain brown wrapper CD-ROM.

    Just copy the CD. Don’t zip it or screw with it any way – it will copy fine. Best to copy it to CDR and make sure you don’t format the blank CD before you copy.

    Consider copying parts to your HD as another way to install Windows, but you want the backup CD for security against losing or damaging your Win CD. There are things on the CD you might well want besides the Windows folder.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60756

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice