Copying Files

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fairm010

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
7
Sorry if this has already been posted, im not sure where to look for it!

Im trying to copy one file, into several folders (about 120).

Is this possible, and how?

Thanks :)
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I guess you're looking for a way not to do it manually, am I right?

You could write a batch file.

Read this and this.

You could also try a program. Found this one on Google but it's not free.
 

fairm010

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
7
Yeah, sorry for being vague :p

Yeah, i don't fancy clicking and dragging all day!

I will be repeating this about 5 times, so around 600 folders isnt ideal!
 

fairm010

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
7
I had a shot at that script on your second link, i can't make much sense of it, can you?

Also that program does look good, but we will be doing this on a yearly basis and we really need a free option! :D
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
You could use the free trial. Maybe it will let you do what you want for this time...
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
9,028
The main question is are these 120 folders all under one parent folder, or are they under several?
Or are they 120 unrelated folders?
For example, here are 15 folders, all under TEST DIR:
Code:
 C:\TEST DIR
+---AL
¦   +---fldr1
¦   +---fldr2
¦   +---fldr3
+---BL
¦   +---fldr1
¦   +---fldr2
¦   +---fldr3
+---CL
¦   +---fldr1
¦   +---fldr2
¦   +---fldr3
+---DL
    +---fldr1
    +---fldr2
    +---fldr3
It would be easy to add one file to all 15 folders.
A little harder to add them to only the folders under the XL parent folders without adding it to the XL folder.
Same with just adding to the AL and CL folders and their subfolders, or to add the file only to folders named fldr3.

Or you can add it to all folders under TEST DIR except those named fldr2.

If there is nothing in common between the folders, you'd have to make a list of the folders, but once done it can be repeated as often as you like.

Also need to decide if you want to skip copying the file if it already exists, or overwrite it to update the file.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top