1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Copying software

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Wrigley123, Oct 1, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Wrigley123

    Wrigley123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    I had Final Cut Pro downloaded on an IMac, and copied the entire software into a USB. When I opened the file on a Chromebook, it showed the application in 500 separate files. Is this common when coping software between devices? If so, how do I combine all the files into one application that will open on a Chromebook? Thank you.
     
  2. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
    Software written for mac will not work on anything that is not a mac. A chromebook is not a Mac.
    When an application is packaged up into an installer for a Mac, the files associated with the application are combined into a single file for ease of handling. The chromebook can look into that file bundle, and can display some of the data included (pictures etc) but it will not be able to install or run the application.
     
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  3. Wrigley123

    Wrigley123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks. Is there any way to perhaps be able to open the file from the usb or is there absolutely no way?
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,098
    First Name:
    David
    You can buy Final Cut Pro for Windows?
    But then it will not work on a Chrome book
     
  5. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1233694

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice