1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cordless phones knocks off my DSL Connection

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by finaldata, Jan 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. finaldata

    finaldata Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Hope somebody could help me with my problem. I have Bellsouth's DSL Service and is subscribed with the FastAccess Extreme with speeds of 3mbps/384kbps. I used to have the FastAccess Ultra which is just 1.5down. Before with the Ultra plan I didn't have any problems when using my cordless phones(1 900MHz and 1 2.4GHz). But when I upgraded to the Extreme plan everytime I turn on my cordless phones I would loss sync on my dsl modem. is there a way for me to prevent this from happening? what could be the cause of this problem? Hope somebody could help me.
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,362
    Do you have filters on the other phones in your house? BTW this happens once in a great while to me also; even running a filter.
     
  3. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    I had this oproblem with a DECT cordless telephone, but only after upgrading to 1Mb Broadband. Previously it hadn't affected the line but I think the faster the BB connection, the more susceptible it is to the noise level. I'm still able to use the cordless phone right by the computer but I had to move its base station to another room - along with the filter, of course.

    Might be worth a try. It is sending a radio signal, when all's said and done.
     
  4. finaldata

    finaldata Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4

    Yup all of the extensions have filters. They always had even when I was on FastAccess Ultra. This only happened when I switched too Extreme.
     
  5. finaldata

    finaldata Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4

    The base for the cord less phones are on different rooms.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It's possible that you're just running too close to the edge with the new service. One problem with DSL is that all the house wiring, up to the filters at various phones, affect the DSL signal. My guess is wiring is the real problem here.

    The way I install DSL is to run a home run of twisted pair directly from the telco service entrance to the DSL modem, then put a single filter at the service entrance to filter all of the rest of the house wiring. Any flat telephone cable exposed to the DSL signal will seriously degrade it.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324582

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice