Cordless phones knocks off my DSL Connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

finaldata

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
4
Hope somebody could help me with my problem. I have Bellsouth's DSL Service and is subscribed with the FastAccess Extreme with speeds of 3mbps/384kbps. I used to have the FastAccess Ultra which is just 1.5down. Before with the Ultra plan I didn't have any problems when using my cordless phones(1 900MHz and 1 2.4GHz). But when I upgraded to the Extreme plan everytime I turn on my cordless phones I would loss sync on my dsl modem. is there a way for me to prevent this from happening? what could be the cause of this problem? Hope somebody could help me.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,087
Do you have filters on the other phones in your house? BTW this happens once in a great while to me also; even running a filter.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791
I had this oproblem with a DECT cordless telephone, but only after upgrading to 1Mb Broadband. Previously it hadn't affected the line but I think the faster the BB connection, the more susceptible it is to the noise level. I'm still able to use the cordless phone right by the computer but I had to move its base station to another room - along with the filter, of course.

Might be worth a try. It is sending a radio signal, when all's said and done.
 

finaldata

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
4
crjdriver said:
Do you have filters on the other phones in your house? BTW this happens once in a great while to me also; even running a filter.

Yup all of the extensions have filters. They always had even when I was on FastAccess Ultra. This only happened when I switched too Extreme.
 

finaldata

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
4
Saga Lout said:
I had this oproblem with a DECT cordless telephone, but only after upgrading to 1Mb Broadband. Previously it hadn't affected the line but I think the faster the BB connection, the more susceptible it is to the noise level. I'm still able to use the cordless phone right by the computer but I had to move its base station to another room - along with the filter, of course.

Might be worth a try. It is sending a radio signal, when all's said and done.

The base for the cord less phones are on different rooms.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
It's possible that you're just running too close to the edge with the new service. One problem with DSL is that all the house wiring, up to the filters at various phones, affect the DSL signal. My guess is wiring is the real problem here.

The way I install DSL is to run a home run of twisted pair directly from the telco service entrance to the DSL modem, then put a single filter at the service entrance to filter all of the rest of the house wiring. Any flat telephone cable exposed to the DSL signal will seriously degrade it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top