1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CorelDraw corruption

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Tom Williams, Mar 20, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tom Williams

    Tom Williams Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Hello,
    Some time back I bought a new Win 10 computer, took it home, tried to losg CorelDraw v5 on it, and it died. I was told the motherboard was fried. Okay, that seemed odd to me, but what do I know? I brought home the replacement, and ditto. Same thing. I upgraded the software and no problem.
    I now want to load Visioneer One Touch software on this machine and am nervous. What is happening here, and is the VIsioneer software safe?Thanks,Tom




    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460 CPU @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8124 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 905 GB (637 GB Free); E: 931 GB (570 GB Free); G: 1862 GB (184 GB Free);
    Motherboard: LENOVO,
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,428
    According to this Visioneer page their Visioneer OneTouch 7400 USB Photo Scanner is compatible with Windows 10.
     
  3. Tom Williams

    Tom Williams Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Thank you for your reply. I am working with a Win 98 9220 disk.
    I will see if there is any info about this on their page.
     
  4. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,428
    Much of the software for Windows 98 was still 16-bit. Your Windows 10 is 64-bit and can also handle 32-bit. It cannot handle 16-bit software though. Also, disks from 20+ years ago will have lost much of their magnetism, which is used to store the 0's and 1's written to the disk. Once that magnetism has faded enough, even on just little portions of the disk, the data that was there is now gone forever. One way to keep this from happening is to copy the disk to another new (name brand) disk every 3 to 4 years or so.

    Recommend seeing if you can download the latest version of the needed software from Visioneer, and that is designed to install and run on your 64-bit Windows 10.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1224742

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice