1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Corrupt File Message

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rozmarie, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rozmarie

rozmarie Thread Starter

Have a 6-month old Dell Dimension 8300 running Win XP Home. All working well until last week when we decided to download SP2. Sometime during that download not sure what occurred. Since then a 'Windows-corrupt file' message keeps appearing and won't go away. The file is called "c:\$MFT". Searches have not found this file. Nothing seems to get rid of it. Anyone else have this happen? PLEASE HELP!!!!

2. n7Epsilon

n7Epsilon

Hi,
    I'm not very experienced in this, but from what I've seen C:\$MFT indicates the presence of an NTFS partition, ie: Your C:\ drive is an NTFS partition....
    Also, $MFT stands for the Master File Table, which is a record of all files on the hard disk and where their "physical locations" are....

If you can boot to safe mode, run a CHKDSK on the drive...

-- You can do this by opening "My Computer" right clicking your C:\ drive and choosing properties, select the "Tools" tab and click on "Check drive for errors"...

If you cannot boot to safe mode, you'll have to use the Recovery Console,....
    --- To access it using the original Windows XP Home CD...
    - Insert your Windows XP Home CD to the CD-ROM drive and boot the computer, you may have to configure the boot sequence in your computer's BIOS to allow it to boot from the CD-ROM.....
    - Press R to enter the recovery console when the blue Setup screen appears...
    - It will ask you to select your Windows XP installation, select it and then it will ask you for the administrator password (created during Windows XP Setup), if the password is blank, just press enter...