1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

corrupt old CD-R

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by catlover2, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. catlover2

    catlover2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    hi,
    i have a old verbatim azo audio cdr, and, it will not play beyond track 1
    on my cd player, and if i try to copy it with k3b it will not read beyond track 1 also.

    any suggestions welcome,

    -catlover
     
  2. Morny

    Morny

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    738
    Hi Catlover2

    How did you create the CD in the first place? Can you perhaps test it on another machine?
     
  3. catlover2

    catlover2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    431

    i did not create this cd, i do have 2 normal cd players and 2 comp cd drives,
    all of those rejected it. and yes i can test it on another comp
    thanks,
    -catlover
     
  4. Morny

    Morny

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    738
    So what is exactly on the Verbatim disc, I presume music? If you have an old stand-alone CD player, these are not supported and will not play MP3 files. The latest players do.

    You say you did not create this CD and I am wondering how it was created.
    Can you tell me what system are you using? If the CD was burned on a Linux system I'm not sure it will work on a Windows environment but I stand to be corrected. As I understand it, K3b (from KDE Burn Baby Burn) works predominantly on Linux.

    What system did you originally use when the disc played?
     
  5. catlover2

    catlover2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    yes its regular music(not mp3), i'm on ubuntu 10.04 beta,
    and, i cannot remember ever having it play correctly.
    and also, i do have another verbatim azo disc that does play correctly on all 4 of those drives.

    -catlover
     
  6. catlover2

    catlover2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    431
  7. catlover2

    catlover2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    431
  8. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Rt-click the CD and see if you can "Browse Folder" to see the files.
     
  9. Rick_in_Fla

    Rick_in_Fla

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,005
    Google for and try copying it with "Exact Audio Copy". If that doesn't work than good luck.
     
  10. catlover2

    catlover2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    431

    that program seems not to be available for linux.:(
     
  11. catlover2

    catlover2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    and yes, i can see them but i can't copy them to anywhere...
     
  12. lordsmurf

    lordsmurf

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,156
    It may just be a bad burn, it was never good, so data cannot be extracted.
    Good luck.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - corrupt
  1. MommaOnAMission
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    400
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920346

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice