1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

corrupt or missing config\system

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Dewy4PrezII, May 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dewy4PrezII

    Dewy4PrezII Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I need help fixing my computer at home. When I booted it up yesterday I got the following message:

    Quote:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

    \Windows\System32\Config\System

    You Can attempt to repair the file by starting Windows Setup using the original Setup CD-ROM

    Select 'r' at the first screen
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    My system is running Windows XP Home operating system. I am not sure what steps I can do when attempting to repair using windows setup. I have attempted some of the fixes I have found online but the system crashes and freezes up after just a few moments while running in the recovery console. I also attempted to reinstall windows but once again teh system crashed. The message I get when the system crashes is the following on an all blue screen:

    Quote:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A problem has been detected and windows has been shutdown to prevent damage to your computer

    This problem seems to be caused by the following file: spcmdcon.sys

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    It concludes with


    Quote:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Technical Information:
    ***STOP: 0X000000BE (0X808AAA16, 0X008AA121, 0XFD58B614, 0X0000000A)
    ***SPCMDCON.SYS - ADDRESS FCC80DC7 BASE AT FCC68000, DATESTAMP 3D6DD67C
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Any help would be greatly appreciated...
     
  2. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
  3. Dewy4PrezII

    Dewy4PrezII Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Unfortunately I have tried that, but the system locks up and freezes before I can get very far. I am concerned that there may be a hardware issue that is causign the problem, such as bad memory, and before I scrap the info in the hard drive and re-install windows (which I tried but it lock up before I could) I am throwing this out there to see if anyone has had a similar issue
     
  4. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Did you fix your PC?
     
  5. Wikiman

    Wikiman

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3
  6. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
  7. Wikiman

    Wikiman

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the info. By the way, I'm working on a Wikipedia article on it. Here's a link that should work: "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SPCMDCON.SYS". Be sure to fight for my article, it needs a few thousand "keep" votes to dig it out of a hole.:D (y)
     
  8. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    And, this is your contribution???

    "SPCMDCON.SYS is a bootup command that performs high-level command processing, rivaling that of even MS-DOS."

    You still didn't explain why you are adding something about it to Wikipedia!
     
  9. Wikiman

    Wikiman

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Actually, I added something to it since you checked it out. Also, the reason I did the article was there's a screenshot that had SPMDCON causing an error, so I got curious and decided to make an article about it.;)
     
  10. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    OK, thanks.

    But it still isn't "a bootup command that performs high-level command processing, rivaling that of even MS-DOS"
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - corrupt missing configsystem
  1. xITmasterx
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    797
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/230778

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice