1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

corrupt windows control buttons

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by izb, Jan 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. izb

    izb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    I am using Windows ME on an HP Pavillion. Every so often ( about every month) the windows control buttons (min, max, restore and sometimes parts of the scroll bar and other icons and check boxes) become corrupt. They may be displayed as blank or multicolored. (They still work though.) The corruption generally starts slowly, not showing up until I have been using the computer for awhile, and appears intermittent. But once the corruption starts showing up, it becomes more and more frequent.
    This has been an onging problem with the computer. HP support likes me to reformat which cures the problem for a while, but it still comes back. (Likewise System Restore).
    Is there something I can do to cure it, or at least fix it when it does happen?
    Thanks
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Try this when it happens: restart and press and hold the ctrl key until you see the "startup menu" with the Safe Mode option. Take that and see if the icons are still "corrupt" in Safe Mode and if they remain so when you reboot. If not, then the problem was with a corrupt ShellIconCache. This is a "hidden" file in Windows which can be deleted, but is also recreated when you boot in Safe Mode. There is a tweak to expand its size if this is happening a lot.

    It could also be a problem with the Video drivers. A workaround to test would be to lower Hardware acceleration in System Properties > Performance > Graphics. Often "most" is an acceptable setting, but you may want to reinstall or update the drivers if you find this does correct it.


    .... and welcome to TSG ...
     
  3. izb

    izb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the response. First I tried lowering the hardware acceleration in System Properties. That did not work as corruption came back after a while.
    Then I booted in safe mode. The controls were not corrupt. (But they never are after any reboot. The corruption comes at varying times after that, with no discernable pattern). Then I rebooted, and after a while the corruption came back.
    Do you think I need to expand the size of ShellIconCache and if so, how do I do that?
    Thanks again.
     
  4. midlandman

    midlandman

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    I can't help you izb,but I had WinME and that happened ALL THE TIME.WinMe was nothing but trouble, I had to format and go back to Win98.
    I've heard others say that Me was lousy as well.Good luck!
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Here is how we can tweak the registry to give you a larger shelliconcache. Download the attached file to your desktop or some other convenient location. Right click on it and rename it to iconca.reg

    Note it's the extension we want to change from .txt to .reg. Sometimes to do this it is necesary to resave the file in notepad using the save as type "all files" for the .reg extension to take.

    Once it is saved as a reg file you will see the icon change. Double click that and confirm the merge to the registry.

    It may also help to see just what you are currently running that may be a source of conflicts or corruption. You can show this by getting the StartupList application from the site below, unzip and run it, then copy/paste the results to a reply

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/
     

    Attached Files:

  6. izb

    izb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Well, this is the startup list. It sure seems like alot of stuff to me. (By the way, I have 256K of ram.)
    Also did the suggested change to the registry. Icons are still corrupted, but I havent rebooted yet.



    StartupList report, 1/12/2003, 12:04:02 PM
    StartupList version: 1.50
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    c:\jetsuite\jshelper.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EPSON\EBAPI\SAGENT2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\JETSUITE\JETSTAT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\KEYBDMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONSCREEN DISPLAY\OSD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMUSBKB2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\JETSUITE\JSFMAN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPSYSDRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\USBMMKBD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\MCAGENT.EXE
    C:\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\WT\UPDATER\WCMDMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WILDTANGENT\APPS\GAMECHANNEL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAPTEC\EASY CD CREATOR 4\CREATECD\CREATECD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\QUICKENW\QWDLLS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MRTMNGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\BACKWEB\BACKWEB\PROGRAM\BACKWEB.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSSHLD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSRTE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\WUAUCLT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Quicken Startup.lnk = C:\QUICKENW\QWDLLS.EXE
    Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check 2.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV02.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    DJRegFix = regedit /s c:\hp\djregfix.reg
    hpsysdrv = c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    Delay = C:\WINDOWS\delayrun.exe
    MotiveMonitor = C:\Program Files\Motive\motmon.exe
    WorksFUD = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\wkfud.exe
    Microsoft Works Update Detection = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    USBMMKBD = usbmmkbd.exe
    Hidserv = Hidserv.exe run
    Adaptec DirectCD = C:\Program Files\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    wcmdmgr = C:\WINDOWS\wt\updater\wcmdmgrl.exe -launch
    VirusScan Online = "C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\mcvsshld.exe"
    MCAgentExe = C:\Program Files\McAfee.com\Agent\mcagent.exe
    MCUpdateExe = C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\MCUPDATE.EXE
    QAGENT = C:\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    ZingSpooler = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Zing\ZingSpooler.exe
    WT GameChannel = C:\Program Files\WildTangent\Apps\GameChannel.exe
    NvCplDaemon = RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    nwiz = nwiz.exe /install
    CreateCD = C:\PROGRA~1\ADAPTEC\EASYCD~1\CREATECD\CREATECD.EXE -r

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    SSDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    Keyboard Manager = c:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
    SAgent2ExePath = C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
    StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv mfpdaemon

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 9/1/2003, 16:40:12)

    [Rename]
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSI.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TBM80A5.TMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    @C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

    @echo off
    REM
    REM
    mscdex.exe /d:IDECD000 /L:M

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    (no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
    McAfee.com Update Check 00122003111806.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [McAfee.com Operating System Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MCINSCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://bin.mcafee.com/molbin/shared/mcinsctl/en-us/4,0,0,55/mcinsctl.cab

    [{6CB5E471-C305-11D3-99A8-000086395495}]
    CODEBASE = http://toolbar.google.com/data/en/deleon/1.1.54-deleon/GoogleNav.cab

    [iPIX ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\IPIXX.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.ipix.com/viewers/ipixx.cab

    [WTHoster Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\WT\WEBDRIVER\WTHOSTCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.wildtangent.com/install/wdriver/ddc/roadrunner/atomicpop/wtinst.cab

    [QCOMCont Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\QCOMCTL1.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.quicken.com/qw2001/qcominst.cab

    [ZingBatchAXDwnl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\BATCHDWNL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.imagestation.com/common/classes/batchdwnl.cab?version=4,3,2,20802

    [Pixami Image Editor Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\BPIMAG~1.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.imagestation.com/common/classes/BPImageEditor.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37601.2744907407

    [DemoShield DemoX Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\DEMOX700.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.dietpower.com/demo//demox.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 9,923 bytes
    Report generated in 0.330 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I don't see anything there that would be an obvious cause. You do have some "wild tangent" entries, generally considered "spyware" and I would install and run Spybot to remove those.

    http://tomcoyote.com/SPYBOT/

    When you update Spybot, select all except the Language and PGP tools, which generally don't apply.

    Spybot also detects "Backweb" which I see in Running Processes, but not in Startups. This is usually vendor installed. I'm not sure where it's coming from, it might actually be a BIOS option.

    I would click Spybot's Excludes tab before running it and have it exclude detection for Backweb under the spybots tab.

    There are a number of startups which I think you should disable or remove. Neither of the Adaptec ones need to run at startup and both are known to cause conflicts, particularly older versions.

    You can run msconfig and remove the checks for those and
    others such as ZingSpooler, (long defunct?!) under the Startup tab.

    I'm including a page which covers what most of those startups are and gives advice on whether they are really needed.

    http://www.lafn.org/webconnect/mentor/startup/PENINDEX.HTM

    Any you have unchecked in msconfig, which you wish to remove permanently from msconfig (this does not uninstall them), can be removed by running regedit

    and navigating to

    Hkey_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RUN-

    the RUN- folder is where UNchecked entries can be; you can right click on them in the Right hand pane to delete them from the registry.

    ......

    If the icons were corrupted when you installed the registry tweak, they will remain so until you reboot; then maybe they will hold up. Somehow the corruption is occuring in memory, not on the hard drive.
     
  8. izb

    izb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for all your help. So far the controls are not corrupt, but it really is too soon to tell. Meanwhile, looks like I have some disk housekeeping to do. I always wondered what all that stuff was at startup and am looking foward to finding out. Again, thanks for all your help.
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You're most welcome, good luck and keep us posted.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112151

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice