1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Corrupted database issue/ annoyance

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Mhouser, Jun 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mhouser

    Mhouser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Would anyone know a solution to a database issue. More of an annoyance than an actual issue.

    Have one database (Backend) stored on network share on Windows 2003 server (mdb Access 2003 file)
    On all worker's computers have database (Frontend, accdb Access 2010 file)

    Access 2010 file has linked tables to the Access 2003 database.
    Have about 12 to 20 people updating records at any time.

    Issues been running into recently. When someone tries to open frontend get error File P:\Database\Backend.mdb is in unrecognized format.
    Would have to copy the mdb file to my hard drive run Compact & Repair to get this working again. File size shrink from 27MB to 1.1MB, found no data missing after repair.

    Does someone know any better design for this type of database?
    mdb only has 2 tables, Orders Table & Products Table, 1 to many relationship.
    accdb edits these tables via a Main Form with Order information & Sub Form with how many products are on that order.

    Products table grows to between 500 - 700 records within 3 month cycle, at the end of this cycle data is transfered to Excel export and database data deleted.
     
  2. Mhouser

    Mhouser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Discovered this command line:
    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE" "P:\Database\Backend.mdb" /compact /repair

    Added this to scheduled task to run at 2:22 AM every night to see if that fixes the issue.
     
  3. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    That should work if you doing the Compact & Repair works.
    I assume that you are using an .mdb database due to User Level Security, otherwise you could try converting the back end to Access 2010.
     
  4. Mhouser

    Mhouser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Will try converting at beginning of next month.

    I will need to re-link my tables on Frontend database right?
    If the file type changes from mdb to accdb.
     
  5. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Yes I think so.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1057870