1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Corsair M2 PCI 120 GB SSD with an MSI B450M Pro M2 - V2 Motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hachuwaka, Aug 2, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. hachuwaka

    hachuwaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    I want to install a Corsair SSD M2 PCI 120 GB.
    My motherboard is MSI B450M Pro M2 - V2
    I know the disk itself is compatible but, will it work as fast as it's meant to?
    Sorry if it's a dumb question, but I'm an ignorant about this. I want to know if my motherboard will allow the disk to work at its peak speed if necessary.

    Edit: I don't know if I've made it easy for you to understand what I said, so I'm posting you the links of the two components that I want to pair :

    https://www.corsair.com/es/en/Categ...-2-SSDs/Force-Series-MP300/p/CSSD-F240GBMP300

    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450M-PRO-M2-V2.html
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,243
    First Name:
    Allan
    Yes it should work ok. What Cpu do you have ?

    If you want to install Windows onto it disconnect all other drives first, that way everything will go onto that NVMe SSD. You can re-connect other drives afterwards.

    Or you can clone your existing Windows onto the NVMe SSD, Corsair have free software to do that, this will download it from your Corsair link :- http://downloads.corsair.com/Files/SSD/CSSDT_1.2.5.5_WIN.zip

    I have never used the Corsair software myself but it should work ok.
     
  3. hachuwaka

    hachuwaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    My CPU is the Ryzen 5 2600X. So if I clone my current installation there's no need to disconnect any drives since technically I'm not performing a windows installation per se, right? Thank you for your answer.
     
  4. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,467
    Corsair toolbox is older and clunky
    But it will clone your drive
    Just remember after the clone finishes to shutdown then disconnect the source drive....then it will boot up with the m.2
     
  5. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,243
    First Name:
    Allan
    There was mention in the manual about the Cpu affecting the speed of the Sata and M.2 but you will be fine with the 2600X.

    I have used Macrium Reflect free version to clone a drive :- https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree
    There are several other free programs that can do it. You may have to shrink the Windows partition if there is more than 120GB taken up on the source drive so it will fit on the M.2.
    Or you can do a clean install to the M.2, if it's Windows 10 it will be activated automatically but you will need to backup your data first and reinstall any 3rd-party programs afterwards.

    It's best to just have the source and destination drives connected, disconnect any other internal and Usb external drives/sticks before making the clone.

    Replay is correct, as soon as the clone is finished shutdown and open the case and remove the source drive. You must not let the first boot up of the clone happen with the source drive still connected. After that you can reconnect it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2019
  6. hachuwaka

    hachuwaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    @replay @managed Thank you for all of your help. I might let you know how everything goes. Have a good day. I'm marking this as solved, by the way. ^^
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,243
    First Name:
    Allan
    Good luck with it, if you need any help later on just ask in a new thread.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1230919

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice