Could not install IE6.exe

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Skudge

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2002
Messages
292
My brother just installed XP after a format and during XP's installation proccess it said it couldnt icopy the file IEXPLORE.exe. The Internet explorer folder is in c: program files but there is no icon.

He has tried to install IE5.5 and 6 from other cd's but still no icon appears anywhere.

Would I be right in thinking that he needs to change the registry so it thinks that he has IE5.0 so that he can reinstall it?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
187
Did you try going to start, then to programs and see if it was in that list there ? If so all you have to do is just right click it in the programs list, then another list will pop up and in that list there is the option "send to" click on that then on , Create shortcut and that will put the Icon back up there on the desktop for you . I hope that this will help you out.
Denim
 

Skudge

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2002
Messages
292
Its not in the start menu or anywhere else on the computer.
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
I think the information on this page should point you in the right direction.

However, I'd probably just do a reinstall of XP (not a format, just a reinstall over the current installation). Since IE6 is an integral part of the operating system, something else may have been left out as well.

To do a reinstall, after booting from the XP CD, don't choose the repair option the first time it's offered. Tell it you want to install XP and you will eventually be offered the option to reinstall.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
pop the xp cd in and run
sfc /scannow
dont miss the space after the c
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
187
I just found this too , in the XP Program, and it helped me out . Go to Start, then click on control panel , then when the control panel pops up , you will see a button on the left hand side there that says, Install / reinstall windows components, click on that, then another box pops up, and you can check , which of the windows components, that you want to reinstall, and the wizard will pull those files up out of the back up files and reinstall them for you. (Works great when you accidently deleted something in the Windows OS. that you didnt want to. )
BUT it dont work work a flip if accidentally delete your Root32.exe files like I done one time by accident. LOL. Now tell me that Was a BIG blonde moment there, and One misclick from h**** . LOL. But I hope that helps you out and makes it easier for you instead of having to go thru all of that other.
Your Buddy Always,
Denim
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
187
Bingo !! LOL Yes that is what I meant, Sorry About that I meant in the Control panel . My Bad. I think either my brains or my fingers or my puters and or all three is having a blonde moment day here . lol
Thank you very much for the Catch There Dai!! Much apprceation.
Your Buddy Always,
{:O) Bear (O:}
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top