1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Could not make an HTTP connection ):

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Loc_Loz, Apr 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Loc_Loz

    Loc_Loz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I Could not make an HTTP connection. I cant get on the internet with internet explorer 8:mad:
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I will move to Networking forum

    We need to have information please.

    - Who is your ISP (Internet Service Provider)
    - Make and Exact model of Router, Modem or router/modem combination
    - Make and Exact model of all PCs and Laptops
    - How are the PCs / Laptops connected - full details - cable, wireless
    - What windows version or other OS are running on each laptop Xp, Vista, 7, ubuntu etc
    - Are there any other machines working - if so please provide details
    - Do you have a Firewall - if so it may be blocking access - what firewall / security program do you have ?
    - If using wireless, do you have Encryption - if so, Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results
    - If using wireless encryption, try deleting the wireless profiles - post back results
    - Most laptops have a wireless switch - some a physical switch other use a combination of the FN key + one of the F key to toggle on/off - make sure this is on
    - If you have a router and seperate modem and NONE of the computers you have can connect, then connecting directly to the modem to eliminate the router for testing.
    - Post back the status of all the modem and/or router lights - are they correct ?
    - Try booting into safe mode with networking, to do that tap F8 as the PC boots and choose from menu - post back the results here

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    {Ping Tests}

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.191.93.53
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:

    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    --

    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP

    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Loc_Loz

    Loc_Loz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    ISP- Verizon
    Router- Westell 6100
    PC- Compaq Presario S3310CL
    PC Connection- USB Cable
    Version- Windows Xp Home Editon
    All Lights good on modem
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you could post an ipconfig /all and ping tests as posted above please
     
  5. Loc_Loz

    Loc_Loz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HansZ
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-10-DC-EA-84-B3
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.194
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, May 13, 2010 7:21:56 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 14, 2010 7:21:56 AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.155.104] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 74.125.155.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 46ms, Maximum = 47ms, Average = 46ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>Ping 209.191.93.53

    Pinging 209.191.93.53 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    You have a connection to google - so you are on the internet - I suspect it maybe a firewall issue , although a little concerned you cannot ping an ip

    Firewalls, which do you have installed, and have you removed Norton etc in the past

    try the following
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    -----------------------------------------
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
    ---------------------------------------------
     
  7. Loc_Loz

    Loc_Loz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    That didnt work is there anything else i can try?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you answer the above ..

    would you ping google again and also this IP address 74.125.155.104

    I would like to see if you have a problem pinging IP address
     
  9. Loc_Loz

    Loc_Loz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I have Windows firewall and thats it for firewalls. heres the rest of the info you wanted

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 74.125.155.104

    Pinging 74.125.155.104 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 74.125.155.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 46ms, Average = 45ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.155.99] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 74.125.155.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 46ms, Average = 45ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you try booting in Safe Mode with Networking to see if it works that way?
     
  11. Loc_Loz

    Loc_Loz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    No i didnt. How do i do that?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    as the PC boots Tap F8
    a menu should appear with a number of options - one of which is
    safemode with networking
    down arrow and highlight that option
    enter
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919516

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice