Could not make an HTTP connection ):

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Loc_Loz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
6
I Could not make an HTTP connection. I cant get on the internet with internet explorer 8:mad:
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,474
I will move to Networking forum

We need to have information please.

- Who is your ISP (Internet Service Provider)
- Make and Exact model of Router, Modem or router/modem combination
- Make and Exact model of all PCs and Laptops
- How are the PCs / Laptops connected - full details - cable, wireless
- What windows version or other OS are running on each laptop Xp, Vista, 7, ubuntu etc
- Are there any other machines working - if so please provide details
- Do you have a Firewall - if so it may be blocking access - what firewall / security program do you have ?
- If using wireless, do you have Encryption - if so, Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results
- If using wireless encryption, try deleting the wireless profiles - post back results
- Most laptops have a wireless switch - some a physical switch other use a combination of the FN key + one of the F key to toggle on/off - make sure this is on
- If you have a router and seperate modem and NONE of the computers you have can connect, then connecting directly to the modem to eliminate the router for testing.
- Post back the status of all the modem and/or router lights - are they correct ?
- Try booting into safe mode with networking, to do that tap F8 as the PC boots and choose from menu - post back the results here

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
{Ping Tests}

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.191.93.53
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

{Device Manager}
Post back the results in device manager
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Then run the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wireless Profiles
http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
- Vista/Windows7:

http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
- delete the wireless profiles
Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

Delete the profiles
you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
--

Wireless Profiles
http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
- XP

http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
- delete the preferred networks
start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Loc_Loz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
6
ISP- Verizon
Router- Westell 6100
PC- Compaq Presario S3310CL
PC Connection- USB Cable
Version- Windows Xp Home Editon
All Lights good on modem
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,474
if you could post an ipconfig /all and ping tests as posted above please
 

Loc_Loz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
6
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HansZ
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-10-DC-EA-84-B3
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.194
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, May 13, 2010 7:21:56 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 14, 2010 7:21:56 AM

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>Ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.155.104] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 74.125.155.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 46ms, Maximum = 47ms, Average = 46ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>Ping 209.191.93.53

Pinging 209.191.93.53 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,474
You have a connection to google - so you are on the internet - I suspect it maybe a firewall issue , although a little concerned you cannot ping an ip

Firewalls, which do you have installed, and have you removed Norton etc in the past

try the following
(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.

-----------------------------------------
(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
---------------------------------------------
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,474
Firewalls, which do you have installed, and have you removed Norton etc in the past
would you answer the above ..

would you ping google again and also this IP address 74.125.155.104

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
Type the following command
Ping 74.125.155.104
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
I would like to see if you have a problem pinging IP address
 

Loc_Loz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
6
I have Windows firewall and thats it for firewalls. heres the rest of the info you wanted

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 74.125.155.104

Pinging 74.125.155.104 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.104: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 74.125.155.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 46ms, Average = 45ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.155.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.155.99: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 74.125.155.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 46ms, Average = 45ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Did you try booting in Safe Mode with Networking to see if it works that way?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,474
as the PC boots Tap F8
a menu should appear with a number of options - one of which is
safemode with networking
down arrow and highlight that option
enter
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top