1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Could someone Help Me?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by chinawht, Sep 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chinawht

chinawht Thread Starter

Hi to all, This is my first post and I am very new to all this. I hope I am doing it properly. I ran "Adaware" and "Spybot" with no problems and then "Hijack This". I use Norten AV and Internet Security with all updates current. All updates are current on my computer, I use WindowsXP. I am having problems with the desktop icons just all of a sudden disappearing. Windows are freezing up,closing, and back to the desktop with no icons. Could someone look at" Hijack This" and see if there is something wrong? Thank you, ChinaWht:confused:

Attached Files:

2. Rollin' Rog

Rollin' Rog

Welcome to TSG chinawht

Can you shed some light on what this Internet Explorer plugin is supposed to do?

O12 - Plugin for .UVR: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPUPano.dll

I really don't see any software issues in the Scanlog to account for that behavior. I would suspect a possible hardware problem, perhaps overheating.

However, a couple of things I would do to test whether it is software or hardware...

Take a look at the Administrative Tools > Events logs. Look under both applications and System and see if there are any errors listed there that might provide further data.

Second, try "clean booting" the system two different ways. One is to run msconfig and uncheck the "load startup items" box and reboot without all your standard startups running. See if the problem persists there. If it doesn't, then one of those startups under the startup tab is responsible.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;q310353