1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Could these multiple problems have a single cause or solution?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by techlessguy, Apr 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. techlessguy

    techlessguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    In 2001 I purchased a Compact Presario with Windows XP Home Edition. I have slow dialup with MSN 9 as my browser and provider.

    Over the last few months, my PC has developed the following problems. They seem to have gotten worse when I was forced to upgrade from MSN 6 to MSN 9 last August.

    1. About 70% of the time after signing in, I get a dialogue box that reads " Microsoft has encountered a problem and needs to close." I eventually log on after an attempt or two.
    2. Pages sometimes freeze for up to 15-20 minutes before a new page finally opens up.
    3. About once a week, I get the smaller bubble that reads that I am running low on virtual memory.
    4. Pages do not usually close when clicking on the "X" in the left corner.

    I recently signed into www.double my speed.com for a scan. The scan detected 837 errors of various sorts.
    I spent nearly three hours speaking to one of their techs from India who took over my computer ostensibly to diagnose the problem. He eventually determined that the $40 annual "fix it" option would not work because I have " very, very bad things" on my computer that needed my immediate attention. He showed me the page with all my errors, and took me to google which explains them. He said I was a victim of hacking. He took me to a page where I was going to get immediate help.
    Of course, all this help was going to cost $250 for the package. I hung up and disconnected.

    I am very un savvy when it comes to computers, but I seriously doubt I need to spend $250 to take care of these problems.
    I would greatly appreciate the simplest and/or least expensive way to get rid of these problems.

    I should add that my Norton anti-virus only detects low risk tracking cookies every week, and nothing else.
    I performed a sweep of these cookies today and got rid of them , but this did not speed things up or eliminate errors.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791


    Hello and welcome to TSG.

    You can eliminate some possibilities of malware being preent by using a stronger scanner than Norton. Download MalwareBytes from http://www.malwarebytes.org and install and update it. Run the Full Scan and click to Remove Selected when the scan completes. Restart the computer then open hte programme again and clcik the Logs tab. Copy and paste the log back here.

     
  3. techlessguy

    techlessguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the advice Saga Lout.

    However, when I say I am an "ignoramous" I am not exagerrating. I actually do not know how to "cut and paste."
    If I can learn these procedures, I will be happy to give it a try once I implement your suggestion.
     
  4. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    When you have a document open or some other text you can highlight with your mouse, using the Control key and C places that highlighted text in to the computer's clipboard. When you post back here, Control and V brings the text back out. To highlight all the text in a document - such as a MalwareBytes log - use Control A first, then Control C.

     
  5. andyspeake

    andyspeake

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,543
    If this is malware related you can also...

    Download and Run HijackThis
    Download HJTInstall.exe to your Desktop.
    • Doubleclick HJTInstall.exe to install it.
    • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis .
    • Click on Install.
    • It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.
    • Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
    • Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
    • Copy/Paste the log to your next reply please.
    Don't use the Analyse This button, its findings are dangerous if misinterpreted.
    Don't have Hijackthis fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    Nothing you do is going to improve the speed of dialup. All of those so-called speed booster sites and programs are scams and a waste of money. It was bad enough that you let someone from India remote access your computer and do who-knows-what to it. Hopefully you didn't provide your credit card information and get bilked for several hundred dollars.

    Install HijackThis and submit a log, as requested. We need to know what's installed and running in the background and if any obvious problems are present.

    What's the model number of that Compaq Presario? If you don't know, advise what the part number/product number is. It'll be on a sticker on the case.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. techlessguy

    techlessguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I have a 5000 model.

    I have not yet attempted "cut and paste", although I will. It might take some time for me to figure it out and get it right.

    I will add that I did run the malawarebyte scan which detected two infections that I believe I removed.

    It is too soon to tell if it worked. I should know soon.

    I thought I would post the categories of the 837 errors detected by the "cyberdefender" scan.

    They are as follows.

    1. Activex, OLE, COM sections 144 errors
    2 User software settings 233
    3. System software settings 406
    4. Shared DLL Section 1
    Invalid File Associations 39
    Run sections 5
    Uninstall section 9
    Total 837

    I need to keep in mind that this tech support guy from India would not likely spend nearly three hours with someone who was not even a customer if he did not think he could get something out of it.
    It was after two hours that he ostensibly determine that the $40 registry sweep would not solve my problem due to the malicious nature of my problem that was supposedly an immediate threat; so immediate that he sent me to the page where I was to plop down $250.

    Do any of the error categories above indicate malaware?

    Two detected infections is a far cry from 837 errors.
     
  8. techlessguy

    techlessguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I just attempted to cut and paste, only to discover that I needed to save the notepad page.

    I thought I could open it up and paste it, but it is gone.

    Sorry about my failures. I will know better next time ( I hope).

    I hope I can still get some feedback.
     
  9. techlessguy

    techlessguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    AndySpeak and Flavallee, I will attempt your suggestions if you feel that malaware is still a likely problem.
    The first malawarebyte scan suggestion I implemented yielded two infections.
    Fortunately, I hung up on the Indian tech guy before giving out credit card information.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    Compaq Presario "5000 model" doesn't help. The exact model number is needed. If you don't know what it is, there should be a part number or product number on the case sticker.

    You advised you bought that computer in 2001, so I'm guessing it came with 256 - 512 MB of RAM.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    When you start HijackThis and click "Run a system scan and save a log file", the log will appear in Notepad as soon as the scan completes.

    Click Edit - Select All(which will highlight all the text), then click Edit - Copy.

    Minimize the Notepad window to get it out of the way. Don't close it!

    Return here to your thread and open a reply window.

    Right-click within that reply window, then click Paste.

    The log will then appear.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. jelleym

    jelleym

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    634
    uh... since misery [sometimes] likes company, I'm in a similar boat, and so's another guy who responded to me on the Security board. Like yourself, I have Dialup (due to affordability) and for the past few months have been trying to get answers from the Public Svc Commision, Atty General, and local senator's office (you name it) re: several questions, such as:

    "is broadband pricing of cable companies regulated by Fed. agency? Are broadband ISPs exempt from anti-trust laws such as price fixing etc? Also does law require unbundling DSL? If they are exempt, why? And so on."

    Thus far (par for the course with bureaucracy)... I've been dealt a runaround staring with the Pub. Commission, then to atty general, then to local state senator's office (who are the only non-socialist gov't types around here), then back to Pub. Commission, and STILL waiting for answers.

    I'd been posting on the TechGuy Security board, since a few months ago, then got transferred recently to the Malware board.

    Back then, I'd gone through MS Repair (due to Trojan attack which happened due to removal of Avast, which i'd only removed due to Avast posting that there's an entirely new Avast)
    ... which put me back to Explorer 5 and Servce Pak-1.
    .... currenly my IE browser doesn't open normally. Stuff is very slow & freezes. For example it takes 10 years until either the MalwareBytes or SuperAntiSpyware interfaces open up upon being clicked.

    I just now ran a HijackThis (thanks to andyspeake's above URL) & plan on tacking it on to the MBAM Log I already posted on the Malware board.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    techlessguy:

    I just received your private message. There's nothing wrong with submitting your computer's model number in an open forum. You actually should have your computer's brand name, model name, model number in your computer specs so we know ahead of time the computer description that we're dealing with.

    Here is the support and software site for the Compaq Presario 5310US desktop. You need to save this site in your browser favorites/bookmarks list so you can refer to it when needed.

    According to the specifications section, that's a pretty old computer. It came with an Intel Celeron 1.2 GHz processor and 256 MB of RAM. It supports a maximum of only 512 MB of RAM.

    If you haven't maxed it out yet, I highly suggest that you do so. Windows XP will run like a snail with only 256 MB, no matter how much performance tweaking you do. It uses PC133 SDRAM modules.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    We really need to see a HijackThis log.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915513

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice