Couldn't connect to Unidentified Network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CXgamer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
4
Hello,

I'm a W7 user and I'm an IT guy. My Nvidia nForce adapter won't ever connect to the router using a cable which worked fine yesterday and the years before. It fails to identify the network, so I'm on the 69. IP and never get any assigned from the router, nor do I receive any packets from it any way.

I have tried the usual ipconfig release, renew, flushdns, reinstalling networking drivers, the old "reboot all the devices", checked services, ran the tcp/ip stack reset, manually gave it a static IP, disabled ipv6, ran PC Optimizer Pro (kidding ;) ), nothing worked so far. Ping goes as far as my own IP, there is no default gateway.

I came from this years old topic:
https://forums.techguy.org/threads/solved-another-windows-7-unidentified-network-issue.992707/

I tried everything in it, had the exact same output as OP. He solved it by buying a new network adapter. The one thing which is off was that services:

"Wireless zero configuration" doesn't exist
"WLAN autoconfig" was disabled

Which seemed normal since the computer doesn't have WiFi. But above the last one was:

"Wired autoconfig" was also disabled.

Sadly setting it to auto and staring the service didn't change the problem.

I'm buying a WiFi dongle so I have internet through USB. But it keeps biting me what this problem could be. Is the ethernet adapter hardware just broken?

Thank you for your response.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
24,661
To trouble shoot I'd
1. replace the cable (yes they do go bad)
2. try a different router port
3. pull the power from the router, wait 1 minute so it resets
 

CXgamer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
4
I've done option 2 and 3 already, but option 1 not yet. I can test the cable with a laptop easily. Thanks for the suggestion. :)
 

Hingle

Banned
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
239
Speccy Scan.

  • Please go here and download Speccy.
  • Install and run the program.
  • Upon Completion:
  • Hit File
  • Publish Snap Shot
  • A link will appear, post that link.

MiniToolBox Scan


Please download MINITOOLBOX and run it.

Checkmark following boxes:



Flush DNS
Reset FF proxy Settings
Reset Ie Proxy Settings
Report IE Proxy Settings
Report FF Proxy Settings
List content of Hosts
List IP configuration
List Winsock Entries
List last 10 Event Viewer log
List Installed Programs
List Users, Partitions and Memory size
List Devices (problems only)



Click Go post the result.



Update your old programs.

Use the free and effective Patch My PC

Uninstall useless programs or programs that you are not using.
Geek Uninstaller is great for doing this.


Start Up Configuration.

  1. Download Whats In StartUp -- By Nirsoft.
  2. If you are unsure what version to get, then Check Here.
  3. Unzip the program to your desktop.
  4. Right click and run as admin.
  5. To disable an item right click on it and select Disable Selected Item.
  6. Then disable all of your startups except the following.

  • Your antivirus.
  • Third Party Firewall.
  • Gaming Mouse.
  • Wireless Keyboards.
  • Any back up software such as carbonite.

  1. Disable the scheduled task on your machine as well.
  2. Download Scheduled Task Viewer.
  3. Unzip to your desktop. -- Run as admin.
  4. Go to options and make sure they are set like the pic below.
  5. Then disable all task, unless they are related to Windows Defender or your antivirus.





Temp File Cleaner.

  • Note: This program may very well reboot your machine. Save any work prior to running.
  • Clean up your temp files with TFC.exe
  • Save it to your desktop.
  • Right click run as admin.
  • Please post all requested logs and tell me how things are running.
 

CXgamer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
4
Whoa awesome reply! :eek: Lots of awesome programs you linked. Thanks for that! :D

I will perform the tasks you mentioned and report back next Sunday when I get back on the computer. :D

Thanks a ton already!
 

CXgamer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
4
It was the bloody cable. -.-

Thanks for your help man. Cheers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top