1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Countdown to Hercules GeForce 3 ti500

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TweakBoy, Nov 15, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TweakBoy

    TweakBoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Well its now 30 days till i order my Geforce 3 ti500, £300 ($349?) of pure gaming goodness. I started doing more tweaks on my system and doing more benchmarks, trying to get the best out of my current system, i am planning to re-install windows XP from CD, gonna have to see if i can make my system bootable from CD tonight, as i dont have a floppy drive.
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Wot? You don't have a floppy drive??? And why not?
    oops.....good morning 0tis.. I mean Tweak....lol

    Savvy :)
     
  3. TweakBoy

    TweakBoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Morning Savvy,

    My floopy drive stopped working for some reason, then i reaslised i dont use it, and shouldn't really need it.
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    I see your floopy, eh... to bad...lol



    Savvy :)


    Did you answer the forum of your favorite songs?
     
  5. TweakBoy

    TweakBoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Ahh Savvy savvy savvy,

    My FLOPPY, works fine, gets regular use and has no problems (touch wood).

    My FLOPPY DRIVE, is buggered.
     
  6. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
  7. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    I made a couple bootable CDs. Still have them, but don't remember what program I used to set it up. I would just use nero now. a: will still be your floppy, b: will be your CD and so will another letter if you load cd rom support.

    I would use nero to set it up the boot disk, but haven't tried it yet. I think I still had to make a boot floppy first though. Of course there are ways around that.


    as for floppies, when you can save to CDs like you save to a floppy then I will get rid of my floppy.


    can I say a "hell ya" on the GeForce III Ti500
     
  8. TweakBoy

    TweakBoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    you may, and on applaud your "hell yeah!" =]

    right now these are my drive letters

    (wd) = 80gb western digital 7200rpm
    (mx) = 13gb Maxtor 5400rpm
    (ds) = 20gb IBM 5400rpm

    A: - non existent floppy
    B: - nothing
    C: 16gb(wd) partition with win xp on & programs
    E: 16gb(wd) partition for games
    F: 16gb(wd) partition for program archives and documents
    G: 16gb(wd) partition for my websites and client information
    H: 16gb(wd) partition for my mp3's
    I: 13gb(mx) drive needs backing up and formatting
    H: 20gb(ds) old primary partition, needs formatting after i backup data

    im having some sound problems in UT on XP but i think a clean install may fix these, hope so anyway.

    ** I wonder if he knows there is people on this forum that LIVED for music room chat domains....LOL


    I doubt he knows the amount of hours we have spent online just listening to the sweet sound of soul.
     
  9. TweakBoy

    TweakBoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Just checked out some interesting ti500/ati 8500 info

    http://www4.tomshardware.com/graphic/01q3/010814/radeon8500-09.html

    radeon 8500 may be faster, but NVIDIA and Microsoft are now bussom buddies thanks to their collaboration on the XBOX. i believe NVIDIA even has a 11 man team working at microsoft developing new Detonator drivers full time. This means that nVidia should keep its nose just infront of ATi with good drivers.

    i dont see ATi providing that kind of dedication to customer satisfaction. infact ATi's drivers give it a 50% loss of performance in some games.

    go go nVidia!
     
  10. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    The radeon my be faster is some aspects, but the drivers are not up to par yet if they will ever be. You ar right about microsoft and Nvidia. Then there is the whole deal on Ati making the radeon drivers perform better in quake III benchmarks by sacrificing image quality.

    It would be unwise to get a radeon 8500 at this time. However spending a lot of $$ on a GeForce III isn't too wise either, but you have to have braggin rights!!!:cool:
     
  11. TweakBoy

    TweakBoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    quick update,

    i couldnt resist and ordered one yesterday....

    should be here tonight =]
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58618

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice