1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Counter-strike

Discussion in 'Games' started by Phense, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Phense

    Phense Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    I just got cs 1.6 and when I try to play online on a server it says in "invalid cd key".Also
    when I try to play with bots and when i want to change to a different map it says

    Error:Failed to load dialog file Resource/UI/ClassMenu.res


    Function trace:
    CGameUI::Start
    CGameUI::Initialize
    CBaseUI::Start
    CBaseUI::Initialize
    Host_Init

    Any clues??????????
     
  2. thehorace

    thehorace

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    You are using the correct cd key?
    Is it pirated or brought off steam/store?
     
  3. Phense

    Phense Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Yes I'm using a correct cd key, I bought it off best buy.

    What would happen if it was pirated????
     
  4. gamerbyron

    gamerbyron

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,091
    If it is pirated, then your using the illegal key, but your ok. You may need to contact steam/store to get the new unused key.
     
  5. Phense

    Phense Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    What am I supposed to do now?
     
  6. ACA529

    ACA529

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Take it back and tell them someone else is using the key. They'll probably replace it.

    Maybe take a screenshot and print it out for proof.
     
  7. Phense

    Phense Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Ok i'll do that.
     
  8. ACA529

    ACA529

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Can you give us an update please? :)
     
  9. Phense

    Phense Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    They said no.
     
  10. NIGHT5ER

    NIGHT5ER

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Well scratch the bottom of the CD and tell them it didnt work. Thats about all you can do now.
     
  11. handbent

    handbent

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    if all else fails, you will prob just have to dl steam and then dl the game from them, its a safe way to go about it cause then you can make sure that no one else somehow got that cd key
     
  12. ACA529

    ACA529

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    That's bull. Did you try talking to a manager? I would have been very angry if I had bought a brand new game and some idiot was using the cd-key. :mad:
     
  13. MindEraser

    MindEraser

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    download steam @ http://steampowered.com/v/index.php
    make a new accout with that cdkey

    -- if it dosent work and says its already being used

    get in contact with steam they can help , just give them that cdkey and tell them its already being used... you need your receipt
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597603

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice