1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Couple of errors..

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Xcal, Jan 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Xcal

    Xcal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I get a pop-up error everytime windows starts, it says 'Error loading C\WINDOWS\image.dll.' I also noticed that every time i restart my computer even if it is Shut down properly Checkdisk will run.
    The Disk Check gets through 'Checking the files' but on 'Checking the indexes' it says insuffiecient disk space.
    I have a virus scanner Avast Antivirus and it tells me that my sysupd.dll is infected.

    I have Windows XP. Please help, if you need more info let me know.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
  3. Xcal

    Xcal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    It said that it was not found on my computer
     
  4. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    SpywareBlaster http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
    AdAware SE http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html
    SpyBot S&D 1.3 http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/

    DL them (they are free), install them, check each for their
    definition updates
    and then run AdAware and Spybot, fixing anything
    they say.

    In SpywareBlaster - Always enable all protection after updates
    SpyBot - After an update run immunize

    Do these and reboot before the next step.

    Then get HiJack This http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html, put
    it in a permanent folder (C:\HJT) , run it , DO NOT fix anything, post the
    log here.
     
  5. xSoilworkeRx

    xSoilworkeRx

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Hey,

    This look to be a very simple fix. I don't believe it is Adware/Spyware/Virus. I believe all you really need to do is flash your BIOS (download an upgrade for the BIOS and "flash" it). If you will give me make and model, I will find you a link for the BIOS upgrade and post it here. I've had a customer with this problem before, and that fixed that issue. Also, if you try letting the chkdsk run in Safe Mode and finish, they may also fix the issue. Try these things, and get back to me on make and model.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/322611

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice