1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cox High Speed Internet problems...help!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Bizzurn, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    I'm running on Vista

    I just got Cox High-Speed Internet a few days ago...and for some reason all I had to do was install the drivers and plug the comp to the modem and it worked. Everything was all fine till today where I tried the internet, and it worked, then I took a nap. I woke up and tried to connect to Xbox Live, and it wouldnt work. So I tried connecting the internet back to my comp, and it still wouldnt work so I clicked on "disable connection", and now it just disapeared completely. Now I guess this might have all been because I didnt install that Cox Installation CD yet, but while running the CD I click on the "I agree" box, and when it tries to go to the tutorial it just shuts down and says there is a problem, I cant get any farther then that. So basically I cant set up my password and email to open up the new network connection because the CD won't work...is it because of Vista or is there another way out of this problem?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info.

    Make/model of the broadband modem.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.

    DOes the modem have a steady "data" or "connect" light? Did you try turning off the modem for 15 seconds, then turning it back on?
     
  3. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Here's what it says on the modem label

    DPC2100R2
    Cable Modem
    Rating: 12v = 1A
    P/N: 4012460
    HW Rev.:2.1
    Date of Mfg: 02/07
    Factory Id: 02

    It's a wired modem and I have wired connections
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You don't need any installation software with standard DOCSIS compliant modems.

    Turn off the modem and computer.

    Connect the computer to the Ethernet port of the modem.

    Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.

    Boot the computer.

    When it's fully booted, do this:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    I tried going to Run and putting IPCONFIG / ALL, but the command window just comes up and flashes for a quick second and then disappears. It just won't stay open so I can't collect the data.

    I also restored my old connection, and I tried clicking diagnose and repair but it just won't work. It keeps saying something about how my IP address isn't configured properly.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    You missed the third word in "Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt" (and after typing cmd you have to hit Enter or click on OK).
     
  7. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    ok, here is what it says

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VALUED-11599CE5
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ri.cox.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ri.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-DE-8C-95-18
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::49d:9ab2:2809:4867%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 10, 2007 5:56:07 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 11, 2007 5:56:04 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001310
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.9.16.25
    68.9.16.30
    68.100.16.30
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ri.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-A9-7F-1A-D5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ri.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.ri.cox.net
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e37e:80d:3f35:3f57:fe9b(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::80d:3f35:3f57:fe9b%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, that looks like it's connected. Let's slap it with a quick repair, just to make sure everything's right.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 and Vista.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Here is it what it says when I try the TCP/IP stack repair

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mr Michael S> netsh winsock reset catalog
    The requested operation requires elevation.


    C:\Users\Mr Michael S> netsh int ip reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Global, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Interface, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Unicast Address, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  11. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Alright, I did it right here is what it says:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32> netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32> netsh int ip reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, OK!
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Reseting Unicast Address, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    After rebooting, does this work?

    Try these simple tests.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    PING 216.109.112.135

    Tell us the results.

    PING yahoo.com

    Tell us the results.
     
  13. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Here is what it says

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>
    C:\Windows\system32>PING 216.109.112.135

    Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=56
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=56
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=56

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 19ms, Maximum = 22ms, Average = 20ms

    C:\Windows\system32>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [216.109.112.135] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=56
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=56

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 21ms, Maximum = 24ms, Average = 22ms
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, you're connected to the Internet with that machine. Does the browser work?
     
  15. Bizzurn

    Bizzurn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    No. I try browsing but nothing comes up. The icon on the lower right just says currently connected to Unidentified network with "Access: Limited Connectivity".
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593514

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice