Cox High Speed Internet problems...help!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
I'm running on Vista

I just got Cox High-Speed Internet a few days ago...and for some reason all I had to do was install the drivers and plug the comp to the modem and it worked. Everything was all fine till today where I tried the internet, and it worked, then I took a nap. I woke up and tried to connect to Xbox Live, and it wouldnt work. So I tried connecting the internet back to my comp, and it still wouldnt work so I clicked on "disable connection", and now it just disapeared completely. Now I guess this might have all been because I didnt install that Cox Installation CD yet, but while running the CD I click on the "I agree" box, and when it tries to go to the tutorial it just shuts down and says there is a problem, I cant get any farther then that. So basically I cant set up my password and email to open up the new network connection because the CD won't work...is it because of Vista or is there another way out of this problem?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Please supply the following info.

Make/model of the broadband modem.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.

DOes the modem have a steady "data" or "connect" light? Did you try turning off the modem for 15 seconds, then turning it back on?
 

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
JohnWill said:
Please supply the following info.

Make/model of the broadband modem.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.

DOes the modem have a steady "data" or "connect" light? Did you try turning off the modem for 15 seconds, then turning it back on?
Here's what it says on the modem label

DPC2100R2
Cable Modem
Rating: 12v = 1A
P/N: 4012460
HW Rev.:2.1
Date of Mfg: 02/07
Factory Id: 02

It's a wired modem and I have wired connections
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You don't need any installation software with standard DOCSIS compliant modems.

Turn off the modem and computer.

Connect the computer to the Ethernet port of the modem.

Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.

Boot the computer.

When it's fully booted, do this:

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
I tried going to Run and putting IPCONFIG / ALL, but the command window just comes up and flashes for a quick second and then disappears. It just won't stay open so I can't collect the data.

I also restored my old connection, and I tried clicking diagnose and repair but it just won't work. It keeps saying something about how my IP address isn't configured properly.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
You missed the third word in "Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt" (and after typing cmd you have to hit Enter or click on OK).
 

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
ok, here is what it says

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VALUED-11599CE5
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ri.cox.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ri.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-DE-8C-95-18
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::49d:9ab2:2809:4867%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 10, 2007 5:56:07 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 11, 2007 5:56:04 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001310
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.9.16.25
68.9.16.30
68.100.16.30
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ri.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-A9-7F-1A-D5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ri.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.ri.cox.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e37e:80d:3f35:3f57:fe9b(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::80d:3f35:3f57:fe9b%10(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, that looks like it's connected. Let's slap it with a quick repair, just to make sure everything's right.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 and Vista.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
Here is it what it says when I try the TCP/IP stack repair

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Mr Michael S> netsh winsock reset catalog
The requested operation requires elevation.


C:\Users\Mr Michael S> netsh int ip reset reset.log
Reseting Echo Request, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
Reseting Global, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
Reseting Interface, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
Reseting Unicast Address, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
There's no user specified settings to be reset.
 

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
Alright, I did it right here is what it says:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32> netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


C:\Windows\system32> netsh int ip reset reset.log
Reseting Echo Request, OK!
Reseting Global, OK!
Reseting Interface, OK!
Reseting Unicast Address, OK!
A reboot is required to complete this action.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
After rebooting, does this work?

Try these simple tests.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

PING 216.109.112.135

Tell us the results.

PING yahoo.com

Tell us the results.
 

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
Here is what it says

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>
C:\Windows\system32>PING 216.109.112.135

Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 19ms, Maximum = 22ms, Average = 20ms

C:\Windows\system32>PING yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [216.109.112.135] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=56
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 21ms, Maximum = 24ms, Average = 22ms
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, you're connected to the Internet with that machine. Does the browser work?
 

Bizzurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
23
No. I try browsing but nothing comes up. The icon on the lower right just says currently connected to Unidentified network with "Access: Limited Connectivity".
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top