cpu: 450, or 300? Help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jasonrosegiese

Hello all,
My system is finally coming together, It's my first build, and I'm a novice, so there are some problems.

System specs:
Fic VB-601 mother board with intel 440bx chipset.
Slot 1 Pentium 2 w/MMX 450 MHz.
512 mb pc100 ram.
32 mb Savage 4 AGP video card.
Diamond monster 2 12mb video accelerator PCI
Diamond MX300 sound card PCI.
U S R 56k modem.
250w power supply.

O.K., now to the problem.

The mb has switches to set the multiplier from 3.5 to 5.
The front side bus is adjusted in the bios.

The cpu installed is definately a 450, but it says 300 on start-up.
even after I changed to 100MHz fsb, it still said 300.

According to my monitoring program, it is running a 66MHz fsb.
Any ideas what the problem is?
I got the mb used, and I don't have the drivers for it, but when I went to the FIC web site, it just confused me.

Maybe I could use a software program to adjust the fsb? Any one know of a good one.

Plz reply with anything that might be useful.

I wanted to overclock this cpu to 560 MHz, but first I need to get it to its 450.

Other than that, it runs smooth.

jasonrosegiese

I'm running 4 sticks of pc 100 128 mb which = 512mb, and I've double checked that twice now. the wierd thing is, it's oubiously running on a 66 fsb, but even when I drop the multiplier down manually, it still reads 300. I'll check out that bios update, but what about drivers for this mb. Also still looking for a software program to adjust it with.

There is a link to motherboard drivers on the page I posted. I don't know of any software program to change your settings. When you change the bios settings to 100 your are remembering to save changes when you leave setup correct? BOL