CPU battery replacement

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bnelsontsg

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
7
My sister's computer battery was going bad, so she went and replaced it herself. It's the simple, flat battery, just pop it out, put the new one in. She also bought a new DVD drive, so she unplugged the old one and took it out. That's all she did. And made sure she didn't shock/fry the motherboard.

Now, when you turn it on, it never boots up. It will run and the monitor will display a screen that shows that it's on, but Windows never loads. I tried putting the old DVD drive back in, the old battery back in, but it's still not working. Any ideas what might be causing this? I really don't want to tear it all apart at this point.
 
Joined
May 26, 2003
Messages
3,303
When you pulled the cmos battery you reset the BIOs to its default settings and that's probably the problem. You need to boot into the BIOs and see whats going on. You should see a screen when you first turn the computer on telling you which key to press to get into the BIOs.
 

bnelsontsg

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
7
Well, that's part of the problem. I know how to get to the BIOS, but it's not getting that far. It runs (ie, fans are blowing, lights are flashing, the usual), but nothing displays on the monitor other than the monitors "default splash screen" (for lack of a better term).
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
12
If you reach your splash screen then your bios (basic input output system) has already loaded. If you are not sure hit del, f8 and f2, one at a time, a bunch of times as soon as you boot up. If those don't work try the other f's when you boot up. One of them will get you into your bios config screen.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
When you say "monitor default splash screen" what actually does it say or show on the monitor? I'm guessing that you are not getting a signal to the monitor and you don't mean a system splash screen that says "DELL" or something like that. In that case I would wonder if your sister knocked something loose like RAM or the video card during the "repairs". Of course if my supposition is wrong then please ignore everything that I've said. :p
 

bnelsontsg

Thread Starter
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
7
Yeah, she's got some off-brand monitor that comes up with a gray patterned design. Then after a few seconds, it will start the boot process, the Gateway logo, the BIOS options, etc. Sorry if I'm not making that clear. It's probably not relevant. The monitor works, but nothing is booting.The RAM and PSI cards are all fine. All the wires look too be in the right spot. I might end up having to completely dismatle it and start from scratch.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Try the easy things first.

Take out the CMOS battery and leave it out for 15 minutes (with the PC off at the wall). Then replace the battery and try again. Could just be the BIOS has some corrupt data that will be refreshed in this manner.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top