Cpu core problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mathew8e

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
1
My amd ryzen is showing that it has only 2 cores activated and i have a 1600x witch has 6 cores. I have ryzen master downloaded. My motherboard is b350 gaming plus. pls help me
 

crjdriver

Moderator
It's My Birthday!
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,171
How exactly are you determining that only two cores are working? Post screenshots of whatever shows you only two cores are working.
Did you clean install the operating system OR did you just swap motherboards/processors and use an old windows install?

It would really help if you posted ALL of your exact system specs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
And, at the very least, what version of Windows are you running? (Windows 7 and lower will only use two cores natively)
 

crjdriver

Moderator
It's My Birthday!
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,171
And, at the very least, what version of Windows are you running? (Windows 7 and lower will only use two cores natively)
Do you have any links to support that? Seems strange to me since I at one time had an 8350 8core cpu running on win7 without any issues. No patches installed or anything
 

crjdriver

Moderator
It's My Birthday!
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,171
So you have no documentation to prove your statement. As I said, I had an 8core processor on win7 and all 8cores worked just fine at 100% when running prime95.
You are confusing cores with processors. Win2k and XP [32bit vers] had a 2 CPU limit however they could use any number of cores. The 64bit ver of win2k like data center used [I think] up to 64 processors.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
crjdriver,
I have personally seen HWMonitor running on a quad core I7 show zero percent utilization on two of the cores unless I ran software that would invoke the other cores. After seeing about four of the same results on different PCs, I dug in and did some research which confirmed those observations; but, that was about 2012 so I didn't keep any of the references.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
It's My Birthday!
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,171
HWM is next to useless with modern hardware. It was a decent program in it's day however that day has long past. A much better option is to use the purpose designed monitoring software that is available from most [if not all] motherboard mfg.
unless I ran software that would invoke the other cores
The operating system will use as many cores as it needs. Your statement that some software will use the other cores is at odds with this statement
Windows 7 and lower will only use two cores natively
Even windows xp will use more than two cores.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top