1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU fan fail msg at bootup

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by snowghost, Apr 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Been getting this msg at bootup lately, says get immediate system sevice, system will shut down in 5 seconds

    Hit F2 to continoue boot

    This started after a system mafunction while changing screen reslution, lost visual for windows
    Have another OS installed in partition c & e, visuale is good on both but still get the cpu fan fail

    BTW: where is the cpu fan

    I have checked the temp of the cpu and it seems to be holding steady at 98 degrees along with system temp

    MY system: HP media center 864n, P4 2.66

    I dont thank there is a cpu fan on this model, the one fan it has sends air to the cpu via air duct and it seems to be working fine
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    When you open the case and on the motherboard is a fan attached to the cpu's heatsink. That is the fan in question. Without proper operation it could fry the processor and as it sounds you haven't built a pc so take it to a shop and have it replaced before trying to run the pc again.
     
  3. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Thats the whole thing, It has been running none stop now for 54 hours, and the cpu temp stays with in a 4 degree variance
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    There would have to be a fan on top of the processor so it would be under that duct.
     
  5. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    If the system is under warranty then call the retailer.
     
  6. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Its still under warranty, That would be the best way ,
     
  7. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    You might want to check to see whether you are reporting Centigrade temps or farienheit temps. If that is a centrigrade temp, then it is where you might burn up your unit. Don't use it unless you know for sure which it is reflecting in temps.
     
  8. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Sounds like a Solution to me LOL

    BTW: it is farienheit
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - fail bootup
  1. Getahobby1
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,328
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/223828

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice