1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU fan not working properly error message

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Vbeev, Sep 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Vbeev

    Vbeev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Today I noticed that the computer, which I always leave on, had shut off during the night. When I turned it back on I heard a churning sort of noise, heard 2 beeps and saw that it said (the only thing on the screen) "CPU fan not working properly".
    After I opened the computer case I saw that the CPU fan was turning, but it might have been turning too slow.
    Do I have to change the CPU fan? Can anything else be going wrong?

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. unmutual

    unmutual

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Was it really dirty? If it spins too slow or at a rate the mobo doesn't like, you'll get that message.
     
  3. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    If cleaning does not help, definitely replace it. You can try blowing it out with a can of compressed air to see if that will help.
     
  4. Vbeev

    Vbeev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    I cleaned the fan, and it seems like it's turning normally, but again, after I turn the computer on it tells me how much RAM the graphics card has, then flashes the cpu fan problem.

    So you guys say i should get a new fan...any chance that anything could have happened to the cpu itself?

    thanks again
     
  5. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    It sounds like the fan or maybe a sensor on the motherboard. One thing you could try is to unplug the fan and then plug it right back in again before trying. It is possible some corrosion has built up on the connection and that would take care of that.
     
  6. Vbeev

    Vbeev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    My fan rests on the heatsink, do I have to replace that too?
     
  7. max 8

    max 8

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    It's best to remove the heatsink when replacing the fan. You don't want to be exerting any unnecessary pressure on the cpu while removing the fan and screwing it back onto the heatsink while it's on the cpu.

    No need to replace the heatsink itself but make sure you apply some good quality thermal paste before re-installing it.
     
  8. unmutual

    unmutual

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    mmmm. mabey it being on all the time and the fan slowly deteriorating made the CPU overheat and die. If replacing the fans doesn't work that might be it.
     
  9. Vbeev

    Vbeev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    it was the motherboard and cpu. I bought a new set and installed everything and turned it on, but nothing happened. The fans inside were turning but nothing showed up on the monitor. I'm using my old RAM. What could be wrong now? Could it be that my RAM is messed up also?

    Thanks guys
     
  10. unmutual

    unmutual

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    You can't change the mobo and cpu and just expect it to work. Set the comp to boot from the CD-rom in BIOS. Boot with the system disk. If you have XP or some Windows, try a repair install. If that doesn't work, you should do full instalation. Hope you backed it all up...
     
  11. unmutual

    unmutual

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    What type of ram does the mobo support?
     
  12. Vbeev

    Vbeev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    It supports only DDR SDRAM, and the RAM that I put in was DDR PC2100 266 MHz.. which the mobo manuals says it works with.
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Clear the cmos by moving the jumper on the motherboard, then moving it back.
     
  14. Vbeev

    Vbeev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    I cleared the CMOS...same thing happens. Nothing shows up on the motherboard, no beeps, the only things you can see is the cpu fan spinning
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    If you are sure everything is secure in it's slots....then, I'd rip it back out of the case and hook it up on a flat non-static type surface and test the basics. Once you get a post beep, start adding things.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/272129

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice