1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cpu/gpu OC'ing, undervolting questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by J4CK, Jan 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J4CK

J4CK Thread Starter

Hi. let me start of saying im pretty new with PC's but i know a fair bit.
    I have a few questions regarding(the title of this post)

Ive never attempted over-clocking, nor do i know the steps/cautions/ect. I just know the very basics(i read the OCing sticky)
    Ive stumbled upon the act of "undervolting" earlier today and was curious.
    I've been surfing around learning a bit about them.

I play a lot of online gaming on cpu/gpu demanding games like arma2,bf3,gw2,ect.
    On BF3 my FPS runs around high 50s low 30s on low/medium settings.

soooo.. im eager in learning more about overclocking, and all-around improving pc performance, and this seems like a good place to start( apart from google ;).

In short: im asking for recommendations, tips, and just solid help.
    Specifications:
    Windows 7 64bit
    MB: AMD FM2
    CPU: AMD® A8-5600K, 3.6GHz, FM2 Quad Core Processor
    RAM: 8GB DDR3-1600MHz Quad Channel Memory (2 x 4GB)
    GPU: R7850 DD 2gb
    PWR: 700watt power supply
    in a SX Black - Velocity Micro Classic Case - Midsized microATX
    - did i miss anything?? Its a stock computer(besides the gpu)

Temperatures:
    CPU: im only using 1 fan(i have a spare laying around) and the temperature is around 34c when im browsing the web. 60c+ when im on BF3.(its set at 100% power)

GPU: 27c browsing the web. Around 50c(maybe) when im gaming. (45% power)

ty4reading:eek:

2. Elvandil

Elvandil