1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU overheating!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Chewitt12, Aug 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chewitt12

    Chewitt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Ok so recently I just had this problem occur to me where my processor is overheating to 95+ degrees which is way above what it should be im guessing I tried a variety of programs showing the temp and they all came up with 95+ degrees. I took a look inside yesterday And nothing looked bad but I didnt want to pull of the heatsink for fear of losing the thermal paste. someone help please.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,140
    First Name:
    Frank
    You haven't provided any information about your computer.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Chewitt12

    Chewitt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    For instance?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    How about the CPU for starters? Also the exact model of the computer if its a pre-built big brand system, or if its a custom built system then list all the parts including the motherboard and power supply and the heatsink you are using.

    When you opened it up, did you check that the heatsink was securely installed and not loose? Did you make sure all the fans were working, obviously the CPU fan but also the power supply fan, graphics fan, and any case fans?

    Also, did this problem start after any changes to the system?
     
  5. Chewitt12

    Chewitt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    to be quite honest im really new to the technical side of computers, I got this computer for Christmas I didn't get to see any of the specs, which obviously means I didn't put it together and search for parts n' stuff. it is a pre-made pc. I can tell you that the cpu fan is running correctly, I didn't want to touch it for fear of messing it up like static shock or something even though i grounded myself before, I don't even know where the gpu is, like it's not there or im just blind (probably just blind). I looked at the device manager.

    CPU- AMD A8-7600 R7, 10 compute cores 4c+6G

    GPU- AMD Radeon (TM) R7 Graphics

    Power supply- idk what the make or brand is but i do know it is a 500W psu

    Motherboard- this one was a bit tricky may or may not help I went in to cmd and typed in this command that this guy said(wmic baseboard get product,Manufacturer,version) and it came up with this- Gigabyte Technology co., Ltd. F2A68Hm-HD2.

    I couldent for the life of me find out what my heatsink was sorry...
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    Some of the info can be obtained by looking inside the computer, generally most parts have the model number printed on them or on a sticker on them. The motherboard will have the model number printed on it, but F2A68HM-HD2 is going to be it, the power supply will also have a sticker with the model number on it.

    Also take some pictures of the computer of the inside and the heatsink and the power supply and post them here.

    There's no issue of static shock when touching the heatsink, other components yes but not the heatsink.

    What CPU temps does it list in the BIOS Setup?
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,615
    Here is a link to the support page for your mb [at least for the part# you supplied]
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5289#ov
    If you download and install easytune, it will provide accurate temp and voltage monitoring. ET is designed for gigabyte boards.

    Note ET is also an overclocking utility so DO NOT make any changes to any settings. Just use the hardware section to monitor.

    I have seen a few amd type coolers break spring clips or the lugs on the mount for the cooler break off. Is your cooler tight on the mount?

    You are most likely going to have to pull the cooler off anyway AND clean all parts/reapply thermal compound.
     
  8. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    Did someone build this and give it to you as a gift?
     
  9. Chewitt12

    Chewitt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Nah someone built it My dad bought it and gave it to me for xmas
     
  10. Chewitt12

    Chewitt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    I'll have to buy some thermal compound first what would you reccomend?
     
  11. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    The point was that someone built it and it wasn't a retail system.

    Ask the person who built it to fix it. Unless you're comfortable doing it yourself.
     
  12. Chewitt12

    Chewitt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    I have a number of friends who are always fixing and using computers Maybe they might help, my cousin has a good history of fixing pc's and gadgets so i'll give him a try aswell. I'd rather ask one or two of my mates before hand and then if they don't know what's going on i'll probably send it back as a last resort.
     
  13. Chewitt12

    Chewitt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Sorry they aren't very clear when i was taking them yesterday I wasn't exactly looking for clearness as i was asking my friend where the graphics card was. I'll post more when i get the chance.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,615
    You do not have a video card; you have onchip video. The video is part of the cpu. Your board has a slot for a video card however you do not have one installed.
     
  15. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    Have you checked that the heatsink is locked into place correctly? You don't need to take it off to check.


    If and when you have to buy thermal paste a lot of people recommend Arctic Silver 5.

    Do the Gigabyte utilities show the same high temps?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1176229

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice