Cpu Overworked And Underpaid!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

galaxygal

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
10
Hi all

Firstly thanks in advance for any advice offered.

Now my problem is my CPU is often running at 100%, it occasionally drops down to the mid 50's, but it often ends up causing the program I am running to either stop working or crash. Then the usual Microsoft error message occurs etc, etc.

Now here what I have on my system:
Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro Motherboard, 1.10 gigahertz AMD Athlon CPU (with 128 kilobyte primary memory cache & 512 kilobyte secondary memory cache), I have 1.1/2 gig of RAM,
320gig hard drive & 160gig hard drive, Nvidia GeForce 6200 display adapter, Samsung Syncmaster 22" LCD Monitor.

I have tried the Gigabyte website for my motherboard to find out if there is another bigger CPU that can be put onto my motherboard, but they weren't exactly helpful. If I can't find a bigger CPU then it looks like I will have to replace the CPU & motherboard.

So my question is...does anyone know if there is a bigger CPU that I can put on my motherboard? and if so what is and how much will it cost? If not then I will have to consider replacing my mother board & CPU, but at the cost of new PC's today, I wonder if it's just worth buying a new PC, transferring over the data I want to keep and scrap the old one. Any thoughts?

There is one thing I have found that since I put in the GeForce 6200 display adapter (which automatically disabled the one that built into motherboard) I have had a number of BSOD's. The crazy thing is, the stop error messages change, and different microsoft error pages with so-called advice, I have nothing concrete as to correcting the problem, which I have found sooooo frustrating.

So if any one can offer any help or advice, I would greatly appreciate, even a comment on scrapping my PC and what to get instead.
Cheers
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
329
I had a system quite similar to that last week (use it to have my feets on today), and I didn't have any problem with it being slow (I've had it for 8 years).

Mine was even worse then yours (you have to agree that it's not a monster xD)

To keep mine up and going I cleaned the registry (If you don't know how to do that, just ask), I cleaned the %appdata% (the same there) and I tried to have a good and low resource using antivirus.

This info would help:

What programs are using your cpu?
What Antivirus do you have?
How much of those HDD's are you using?
What operation system do you have installed?

I'm really serious, mine had 512mb ram, 1.4ghz athlon, geforce3 200Ti and I could use it just fine (for gaming it was a bit "eh") but you still can get this thing running fine (I assume by your perfect English, that you're not young, and therefore you probably don't game very much)


I'd not recommend you to buy a new motherboard and cpu, a new pc would be better.

The highest you would possibly get by upgrading is like 1.8 GHz or something, you wouldn't feel the difference.


Ask anything you want, byebye =)
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,497
To answer your question, yes you can swap in a faster cpu. Your board will support up to a 3200 barton core. Next it would NOT be cost effective. If you can even find one of those cpus, the cost would be prohibitive.

If the system is running @100% you have a virus, spyware, and or malware. This will cause the system to overheat and give you bsod, error msg, etc. Those socket As run warm to begin with; at 100% cpu usage, they will overheat.

You might want to post a hijack log in the malware forum for review.
 

galaxygal

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
10
Hi all and thanks for getting back to me.

Here's the answers to the following questions:

What programs are using your cpu? The programs I have on my system are quite extensive, including Adobe Photoshop CS3, Adobe Bridge amongst others.

What Antivirus do you have? BullGuard 8.0

How much of those HDD's are you using? Sorry HDD sizes were incorrect, I actually have a 200gig HDD of which 75gig is used space, this is the primary HDD, the other HDD is 120gig of which 88gig is used space, but this is secondary HDD and it contains mostly photographs.

What operation system do you have installed? Windows XP Pro

I did check out google regarding 'virus that would cause 100% usage of cpu ' but I couldnt find anything that would offer an answer. I did the HiJack Log - pasted below
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 21:24:13, on 05/04/2008
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16608)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MsMpEng.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device

Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\BullGuard

Software\BullGuard\BullGuardUpdate.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft

Shared\VS7DEBUG\MDM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPZipm12.exe
C:\Program Files\Dantz\Retrospect\retrorun.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Dantz\RETROS~1\wdsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\sstray.exe
C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\WDBtnMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\WDC\SetIcon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Common

Files\InstallShield\UpdateService\issch.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\BullGuard

Software\BullGuard\bullguard.exe
C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI

RoboForm\RoboFormWatcher.exe
C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SUPERAntiSpyware.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Webshots\Webshots.scr
C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqimzone.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqSTE08.exe
c:\program files\common

files\installshield\updateservice\isuspm.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\INSTAL~1\UPDATE~1\agent.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\WINWORD.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows

Live\WLLoginProxy.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Kim\My Documents\My

Downloads\Hijack This\hijackthis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet

Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet

Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL =

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet

Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL =

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet

Explorer\Main,Search Page =

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet

Explorer\Main,Start Page =

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection

Wizard,ShellNext = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/
R1 -

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet

Settings,ProxyOverride = *.local
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper -

{06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program

Files\Common

Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) -

{53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program

Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) -

{724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class -

{761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program

Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper -

{9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program

Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows

Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
O2 - BHO: Windows Live Toolbar Helper -

{BDBD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program

Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &RoboForm -

{724d43a0-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Windows Live Toolbar -

{BDAD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program

Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE

C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nForce Tray Options] sstray.exe /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Defender] "C:\Program

Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe" -hide
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WD Button Manager] WDBtnMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SetIcon] \Program

Files\WDC\SetIcon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BluetoothAuthenticationAgent]

rundll32.exe bthprops.cpl,,BluetoothAuthenticationAgent
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program

Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\jusched.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ISUSPM Startup]

C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\INSTAL~1\UPDATE~1\isuspm.exe

-startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ISUSScheduler] "C:\Program

Files\Common

Files\InstallShield\UpdateService\issch.exe" -start
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE

C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher]

"C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader

8.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe]

C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [BullGuard] "C:\Program

Files\BullGuard Software\BullGuard\bullguard.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [RoboForm] C:\Program Files\Siber

Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormWatcher.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SUPERAntiSpyware] C:\Program

Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SUPERAntiSpyware.exe
O4 - Startup: Webshots.lnk = C:\Program

Files\Webshots\Launcher.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk =

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe

Gamma Loader.exe
O4 - Global Startup: HP Digital Imaging Monitor.lnk =

C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
O4 - Global Startup: HP Photosmart Premier Fast

Start.lnk = C:\Program Files\HP\Digital

Imaging\bin\hpqthb08.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &2 Customize Menu -

res://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI

RoboForm\RoboForm.dll/ComCustomIEMenu.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &7 Fill Forms -

res://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI

RoboForm\RoboForm.dll/ComFillForms.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &8 Save Forms -

res://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI

RoboForm\RoboForm.dll/ComSavePass.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Windows Live Search -

res://C:\Program Files\Windows Live

Toolbar\msntb.dll/search.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Windows &Live

Favorites - http://favorites.live.com/quickadd.aspx
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft

Excel -

res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) -

{08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program

Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console -

{08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program

Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: Fill Forms -

{320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F46} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &7 Fill Forms -

{320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F46} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O9 - Extra button: Save Forms -

{320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F49} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &8 Save Forms -

{320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F49} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O9 - Extra button: RF toolbar -

{724d43aa-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &9 Robo Toolbar -

{724d43aa-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program

Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
O9 - Extra button: Research -

{92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} -

C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: (no name) -

{e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} -

%windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file

missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 -

{e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} -

%windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file

missing)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger -

{FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program

Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger -

{FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program

Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider

'c:\program files\bonjour\mdnsnsp.dll' missing
O11 - Options group: [INTERNATIONAL] International*
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} -

http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52/20070501/qtinstall.

info.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94}

(PCPitstop Utility) -

http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {215B8138-A3CF-44C5-803F-8226143CFC0A}

(Trend Micro ActiveX Scan Agent 6.6) -

http://eu-housecall.trendmicro-europe.com/housecall/app

let/html/native/x86/win32/activex/hcImpl.cab
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE}

(Symantec AntiVirus scanner) -

http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/vc/bin

/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {4F5E4276-C120-11D6-A1FD-00508B9D48EA}

(dldisplay Class) -

http://www.gamehouse.com/ghdlctl.cab
O16 - DPF: {5ED80217-570B-4DA9-BF44-BE107C0EC166}

(Windows Live Safety Center Base Module) -

http://cdn.scan.onecare.live.com/resource/download/scan

ner/wlscbase4009.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5}

(Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) -

http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common

/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {67A5F8DC-1A4B-4D66-9F24-A704AD929EEE}

(System Requirements Lab) -

http://www.nvidia.com/content/DriverDownload/srl/2.0.0.

1/sysreqlab2.cab
O16 - DPF: {67DABFBF-D0AB-41FA-9C46-CC0F21721616}

(DivXBrowserPlugin Object) -

http://download.divx.com/player/DivXBrowserPlugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3}

(MUWebControl Class) -

http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/V5Contro

ls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1172759177656
O16 - DPF: {BE319D04-18BD-4B34-AECC-EE7CB610FCA9}

(BewitchedGameClass Control) -

http://www.station.sony.com/games/en/010/main.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000}

(Shockwave Flash Object) -

http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/fl

ash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {DF780F87-FF2B-4DF8-92D0-73DB16A1543A}

(PopCapLoader Object) -

http://www.bigfishgames.com/online/bejeweled2/popcaploa

der_v6.cab
O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program

Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
O20 - Winlogon Notify: WgaLogon -

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WgaLogon.dll
O21 - SSODL: WPDShServiceObj -

{AAA288BA-9A4C-45B0-95D7-94D524869DB5} -

C:\WINDOWS\system32\WPDShServiceObj.dll
O23 - Service: Adobe LM Service - Adobe Systems -

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe Systems

Shared\Service\Adobelmsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Apple Mobile Device - Apple, Inc. -

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device

Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
O23 - Service: BullGuard LiveUpdate (BGLiveSvc) -

BullGuard Software - C:\Program Files\BullGuard

Software\BullGuard\BullGuardUpdate.exe
O23 - Service: FLEXnet Licensing Service - Macrovision

Europe Ltd. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macrovision

Shared\FLEXnet Publisher\FNPLicensingService.exe
O23 - Service: HP Port Resolver - Hewlett-Packard

Company -

C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\HPBPRO.EXE
O23 - Service: HP Status Server - Hewlett-Packard

Company -

C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\HPBOID.EXE
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) -

NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP -

C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPZipm12.exe
O23 - Service: Retrospect Launcher (RetroLauncher) -

Dantz Development Corporation - C:\Program

Files\Dantz\Retrospect\retrorun.exe
O23 - Service: Retrospect WD Service (RetroWDSvc) -

Dantz Development Corporation -

C:\PROGRA~1\Dantz\RETROS~1\wdsvc.exe
O23 - Service: ServiceLayer - Nokia. - C:\Program

Files\Common Files\PCSuite\Services\ServiceLayer.exe

So if anyone can see anything that is a culprit to my Piggy CPU then I would be really grateful, and Hubby won't be blowing a gasket every time Photoshop crashes :)

And Man550 regarding 'I assume by your perfect English, that you're not young, and therefore you probably don't game very much)' I am a mature person, but I LOVE to play games, as you can see from my hijack log, and my momma always taught me to speak properly :)

Cheers
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Messages
1,824
Not very good at reading HiJack logs so I'll leave it to the others here to analyze.

If you do want to upgrade the CPU though, you could go up to an Athlon XP 2600+ for not too much money. Looking for a 3200 wouldn't be worth the money as they are exceedingly rare these days.

$65.50 here for the Barton core version: http://www.starmicro.net/detail.aspx?ID=488
$50.00 for the Thoroghbred version: http://www.starmicro.net/detail.aspx?ID=575

I have the Barton 2600 in my system and didn't have any problems playing Oblivion, FEAR, or GTA San Andreas, plus I do Photoshop and video editing occasionally as well.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
329
Whut the heck, R'u using internet explorer?!?!?!? :O

IE7+1.1ghz athlon=nope

http://browser.netscape.com/ (this one isn't developed anymore but I'm still using it and it's _fast_).

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/ (download firefox, this is the most popular explorer after IE)

If you don't like any of them, search for 'opera', you might like that one better.

But if U wanna be a noob you can stay with IE7 :)

BTW: I know that netscape isn't developed anymore, but I'm still using it and I haven't got a single virus (nothing that either me or any of the 3-4 programs I've used to search can notice)

You might want to change to firefox in a year or so if you go for netscape.
----------------------------------------
Yeah baby, I'm a senior member, mohaha =)

Lol I'm a 14 years old senior^^
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Looking at the motherboard you have I'm surprised you have a 1.1Ghz Athlon processor. Are you sure its not running at the wrong speed? You may want to double check if thats correct.

Next, a corrupt video driver will cause really high CPU usage and problems. Have you made sure to uninstall the previous built in video card drivers? You may also want to reinstall the latest Geforce drivers from their website at www.nvidia.com

Also when you bring up Task Manager and look at the processes from all users does it show what is using the processor?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top