1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Cpu removal help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tswann75, Sep 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tswann75

Tswann75 Thread Starter

I have recently decided to take the cpu out of my laptop (Acer aspire r11) but the cpu is lile glued to the motherboard. I am no professional with computers. How do i remove it without damaging it?

2. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

It is not glued; most likely soldered to the board ie non-replaceable unless you are highly skilled with a soldering iron.

3. Tswann75

Tswann75 Thread Starter

I am by no means professional witg a soldering iron but i do own one.

4. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

Then either give up or take it to a shop for the swap.

5. Tswann75

Tswann75 Thread Starter

I will send a picture when i get home i dont know if it soldered or im being to fragle with it.

6. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    What is the exact SNID number and serial number on your Acer Aspire R11 notebook?

I seriously doubt its processor is user removable and can be upgraded.

---------------------------------------------------------------

7. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

Frank is correct. Even IF it is possible to remove the processor, it is doubtful your laptop will support anything faster. Just because it is the same socket does not mean the cpu is supported. Unless whatever processor you want to install was an option when you purchased this laptop, it is highly doubtful that your swap will work.

Acer products are pretty low end and as such, upgrades, etc are [generally] not available.

8. Tswann75

Tswann75 Thread Starter

Im currently at school i can give you it later.

9. Tswann75

Tswann75 Thread Starter