1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU says 95-100% Computer too slow - how do i fix it

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by solakfamily, Jan 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. solakfamily

    solakfamily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I have a hp a520n hard drive. For awhile now, my computer will slow down to almost not working. When I click on task manager, my iexplorer is reading 95-100%. I was using a very basic qb online program last night and it took me 3 hours to do something that should of taken 1. I have run my computer through avg(updated before scanning), defragging and the other utility program that is offered. How do I fix this?
    I am using windows XP and windows explorer for internet
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Provide the make and model of the following:

    • Problem PC
    • Processor
    ----------------------------------------

    Also, how much RAM is in the computer?

    What antivirus program do you have?
     
  3. solakfamily

    solakfamily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I am not very computer friendly. I know that the anti virus is the free AVG but where do i find the answers to the rest of your questions?
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Click Start

    Right-click My Computer

    Click Properties.

    Either provide a screenshot of this window, or post all information given under System and Computer.

    ------------------------------------------

    Here is a preview of what the window should look like:
    [​IMG]

    ------------------------------------------


    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  5. solakfamily

    solakfamily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Windows HP
    Home Edition
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 3

    HP Pavilion
    AMD Athlon (tm) XP
    3200 + 2.19 GZ
    448 MB of Ram
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Somewhere on your computer, you should be able to find a model number.

    Your computer's information would look like this: HP Pavilion ______. (The model number needs to go in that blank).

    ------------------------------------

    But while you're looking for that, you might want to think over purchasing more RAM for your computer. You currently have 512MB installed (not all is shown in that window because some is set aside for other purposes). This is almost the bare minimum to run Windows XP on, and I suggest you add more.

    Finding the computer's model number should allow me to look up how much RAM can be added. Once we determine that, we can figure out how much it would all cost depending on how much you want to add.
     
  7. solakfamily

    solakfamily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    The front of the tower says HP Pavilion a520n. Is this what you are looking for? I would think about ordering more RAM if you think that will fix this. The computer works well for me otherwise. How much does it cost and do you think I could install it?
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Yes, that is what I was looking for.

    And glad to hear you would consider ordering more RAM. I do think it will speed it up considerably, though it obviously won't be replacing your CPU. But in an scenario like this, adding more RAM makes the system run a lot faster than replacing the processor would.

    Also, I am sure you could install it. Most people picture their computer tower as Pandora's box, but I assure you, adding RAM is the most simple task as far as adding hardware to your computer goes.

    ----------------------------------------

    Your computer's motherboard has two RAM slots that are both occupied.

    One slot has 256MB installed and the other has 256MB installed as well.

    That's 2 184 pin, DDR SDRAM 333 MHz (PC2700) DIMMs.

    Use Crucial's Memory Scanner to make sure this data matches.

    ----------------------------------------

    Assuming this data matches, I've provided a link from Best Buy as an example purchase.

    Crucial Memory - 1GB PC2700 DDR UDIMM Desktop Memory

    You would replace one of the RAM modules in your desktop with this one.

    If you choose to order 2 of these, you could replace the other RAM module in your desktop as well.

    Your motherboard can only support up to 2GB of RAM total.
     
  9. solakfamily

    solakfamily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I ran the crucial memory scanner and the information was correct. I realize what i am going to ask next is purely your opinion, but since i am not computer friendly, would you recommend i replace both or only 1 and see if one works for me? Using your directions I am willing to open pandora's box. I am wondering if my needs will match only 1 upgrade to 1.28gb or should i go to 2gb? I use the simple quickbooks online program, pay bills by internet, use alot of excel, turbo tax and download pictures from computer and videos from a small handhold video cam that plugs into a usb port. I am on a tight budget or I would just buy both. Do u think it will make a big difference - 1 vs 2. Thank you for all your help. I have been dealing with this problem for awhile and this seems like a simple fix.
     
  10. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Obviously, 2GB would be better than 1.25GB. But given the list of common tasks you just gave me, 1.25GB should suffice.

    Windows XP (32-bit) can support up to 4GB of RAM, but that much RAM is only needed for gaming and intense video editing.

    For things like surfing the net, using low-resource programs, etc., 1.25GB should be OK. If once you purchase it, and your computer's hardware monitoring software says you could use 2GB, then you can make the decision then. For now, if I were you, I would suggest purchasing only one 1GB DIMM.

    -------------------------------------------

    Below I have supplied a link to a guide, showing you how to install RAM. If you have any questions, you can send me a private message, or re-post on this thread. I will stay Subscribed to it since you will likely have to order the RAM via UPS, FedEx, etc.

    Hack Attack: How To Install RAM
     
  11. solakfamily

    solakfamily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks again for everything. We will start of with one. I have to wait 2 weeks for $ before I can order the RAM. I will let u know how it goes. Happy New Year!!
     
  12. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Happy New Year to you too. Hope everything works out. :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - says 100% Computer
  1. Hayward0222
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    198
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972237

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice