1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU speed increase

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by petervanegas, Jun 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. petervanegas

    petervanegas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Hello, in my AMI BIOS simple setup utility the CPU PnP setup tells me that there is a CPU speed available up to 550MHz with CPU base frequency 100MHz
    and CPU multiple factory 5.5x
    I'm now at 300MHz base frequency of 66MHz and multiple factory4.5x and the computer works fine. My question is if its save to increase the speed to the 550MHz? my CPU brand is a AmD K6-2.
    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. LukeW

    LukeW

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    the max processor will be an AMD K6-2 550Mhz or the AMD K6-3 450Mhz! i have been working on a K6-2 and board today so its stiill fresh in my head lol
     
  4. petervanegas

    petervanegas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for the reply, so it is save for me to turn from300 to 550MHz cpu speed?
     
  5. LukeW

    LukeW

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    it depends on your processor though! sounds like you have a 300Mhz CPU i dont know how safe they are to overclock! they should be cheap to get hold of anyway nowadays
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    36,345
    I doubt that you will get a 300mzh processor to run @ 550. You might be able to overclock it a little, however it is unrealistic to expect an overclock of almost double the speed.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,426
  8. petervanegas

    petervanegas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    im dwnloading everest, what exactly info do i have to post to let you know if i can do this change?
     
  9. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-166&depa=1
    This is probably the only safe way to get your 550, you can't just crank up a 300 to a 550, also what is your mem type pc100?, what is your mobo? can you run at 100, it sounds like it if you had the new 550.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,426
    everest should provide details on motherboard and CPU
    Details under
    Computer :- Overclock
    Motherboard Section:- all

    this may tell us the details of max speed for CPU and answer Brite750 questions
     
  11. petervanegas

    petervanegas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Here is the overclock and motherboard info from the everest report sorry that im responding this late but my sister had to use the computer for some university exam...
    --------[ Overclock ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    CPU Properties:
    CPU Type AMD K6-2
    CPU Alias Chomper Extended, K6-2-CXT
    CPU Stepping CXT/A
    CPUID CPU Name AMD-K6(tm) 3D processor
    CPUID Revision 058Ch

    CPU Speed:
    CPU Clock 300.35 MHz
    CPU Multiplier 4.5x
    CPU FSB 66.74 MHz

    CPU Cache:
    L1 Code Cache 32 KB
    L1 Data Cache 32 KB
    L2 Cache 0

    Motherboard Properties:
    Motherboard ID 52-1028-001437-00101111-071595-000000$00101M598LMRRelease 10/28/1999S
    Motherboard Name PCChips M598LMR (1 ISA, 2 PCI, 3 DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN, Modem)

    Chipset Properties:
    Motherboard Chipset SiS 530
    CAS Latency (CL) 3T
    RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 2T
    RAS Precharge (tRP) 2T

    BIOS Properties:
    System BIOS Date 07/15/95
    Video BIOS Date 97/08/22
    DMI BIOS Version 062601

    Graphics Processor Properties:
    DirectX 4.08.00.0400 (DirectX 8.0)

    Sensor Properties:
    Vcore 2.96 V
    Vaux 2.72 V
    Vio 3.41 V

    --------[ Motherboard ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Motherboard Properties:
    Motherboard ID 52-1028-001437-00101111-071595-000000$00101M598LMRRelease 10/28/1999S
    Motherboard Name PCChips M598LMR

    Front Side Bus Properties:
    Bus Type Intel GTL
    Bus Width 64-bit
    Real Clock 67 MHz
    Effective Clock 67 MHz
    Bandwidth 533 MB/s

    Motherboard Physical Info:
    CPU Sockets/Slots 1
    Expansion Slots 1 ISA, 2 PCI
    RAM Slots 3 DIMM
    Integrated Devices Audio, Video, LAN, Modem
    Form Factor Baby AT
    Motherboard Size 220 mm x 220 mm
    Motherboard Chipset SiS530

    Motherboard Manufacturer:
    Company Name PC Chips Group of Companies
    Product Information http://www.pcchips.com.tw/product.html
    BIOS Download http://www.pcchips.com.tw/BIOS.html


    If you need any more info please be specific, thanks.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/242198