1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU spikes

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Sleeper4, Dec 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sleeper4

    Sleeper4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Have XP system. This question is twofold. First for Firefox.Often get spikes. Task MGR. shows it's from Firefox exe.though sometimes it's from ccSvcHst.exe. It also vacillates between System Idle as well. Any suggestions? Second, when I use Chrome, Task MGR. shows numerous chrome.exes even though I have only opened one page and tab. It, too, spikes in the same manner. Any suggestions? Please give specific steps. Thanks....Sleeper4
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    ccSvcHst.exe is related to Norton and is known to cause high CPU usage on some computers.
     
  3. mattasoft

    mattasoft

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
  4. Sleeper4

    Sleeper4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I have Norton and I also have their utilities. Have used it regularly. Still spikes.
     
  5. Sleeper4

    Sleeper4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Read bad things about Mlawarebyte.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    You can test the issue at hand by uninstalling Norton with the Norton Removal Tool. Remember to note your registration informations like username, password and key to reinstall.
     
  7. Sleeper4

    Sleeper4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    just had norton test it. I don't want to uninstall it. Thanks anyway.
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Can you at least disable it completely?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/965939

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice