1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU Supposedly Incompatible

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jolithan, Dec 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jolithan

    Jolithan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I installed some new components today (CPU & GPU) and my motherboard is complaining that the new CPU is incompatible, despite the fact that I can boot and operate normally, the extra power from both components is certainly kicking in and I'm getting great performance in every game I have tested. I have tried upgrading the BIOS to the latest version from the ASUS site, and although it upgraded it still claims that there is a compatibility issue. What should I do? If nothing, how do I disable the notification?

    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 4 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4094 Mb
    Graphics Card: MSI N460GTX Hawk, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 476837 MB, Free - 231310 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., M4A78LT-M-LE
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  3. Jolithan

    Jolithan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I checked that myself, surely though if it boots and runs then it's fine? Unless there are some problems that could be had in the future.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Well the board doesn't support any of the 125 watt or this 140 watt processor, there's probably a good reason for that.
     
  5. Jolithan

    Jolithan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I'd assume the CPU would be under-clocking then?
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Not necessarily, it could be taxing the motherboard more heavily and could lead to stability problems or failure.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029504

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice